A Typical Image from our Small Town: The Evening Ferry Departs

in #tourism6 years ago

82f83e83-6690-4730-9f24-28547e2c8439.jpeg


Something a little different, for your Sunday evening viewing:

Last night, as we finished up the evening after our monthly "Art Walk," the sky turned pink and purple... in the distance, clouds were building for summer thunderstorms in the distant Cascade mountains.

I see this view every day when I leave the gallery, and maybe I have started taking it for granted.

We are surrounded by water on three sides; there are islands and mountains everywhere... and there is practically no such thing as a "bad view" here.

And then the evening ferry to Whidbey Island came into view. With as many islands and deep bays as we have, we take ferries everywhere. The Washington State Ferry system is the largest in the US, and the 4th largest in the world.

Anyway, I found myself looking at the ultimate "stereotypical and prosaic tourist image" and realized — in that moment — WHY people take so many pictures here.

And so, instead of another post about "art news," I share with you just one view from our home town.

It's pretty here.

You tend to forget such things when you work indoors, and spend too much time with your work.

So take a moment to appreciate where you are!

Red Dragonfly is a proud graduate through the @sndbox creative incubator program, part of the "Cohort 1" team of May 31st, 2018. Please support Sndbox and the @sndbox-alpha curation initiative!

The Red Dragonfly is an independent alternative art gallery located in Port Townsend, WA; showcasing edgy and unique contemporary art & handmade crafts by local and worldwide artists. All images are our own, unless otherwise credited.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

the way you describe my photos is very interested. I am so happy to read it because there is a lot of knowledge to be learned about the ferry and also the scenery around you

Congratulations @reddragonfly! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Such a gorgeous image! I first visited the Pacific Northwest when I was 14, and we stayed in Port Townsend, if I remember correctly. It was there or some other little town in paradise where I discovered a coffee shop named the Boiler Room that was one of the highlights of my entire trip. And the mountains, of course. The mountains and the sea. Magic!

Thanks for sharing this. Made me smile. I'll upvote one of your other posts as this is past payout, but I'm glad I took the time to read this. Oh, and six years after I first travelled to the PNW, I moved there. Been in BC ever since. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71