Thought Of The Day: A Life Without Constant Improvement Is One Not Worth Living

in #totd7 years ago (edited)

I've given some thought into what I can produce every day, without having to overly stress myself out. There may be other series that I can maintain, but for now, I'll just share a very brief thought of the day.

There is a fancy Italian quote that says never stop learning or something like that, and in the recent weeks, that's a lesson that's been hitting home hard. 

The world is in constant flux and change. Your failure to grow means that you may very well be left behind by the tech and innovation. 

So I do hope that the day I stop learning is the day I die.

I've actually never had issues with gathering knowledge. In fact, I enjoy it. 

Some people collect toys, or cars, or figurines. I collect nuggets of knowledge, often scattered across many disciplines. Often, I don't know what to do with what I know, except to pull it out as random bits of trivia when the moment is right. 

(for example, did you know that there was a toad named the Pipa pipa where the females absorb their eggs in holes in their backs? When the young are hatched, they erupt out from under their skin. It's quite horrifying if you're not ready for it, and bad for trypophobics in particular. That was one of my favourite random facts when  I was teaching kids.) 

But perhaps what I need to do is be more disciplined about my learning. To be deliberate in the knowledge I seek out and acquire. 

In my current line of work, what I should look for would go along the lines of becoming a better writer and understanding businesses more.

So, ancora imparo it is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57668.08
ETH 2381.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42