Angulate Tortoise and Arum Lily

in #tortoise7 years ago

The angulate tortoise (Chersina angulata) is endemic to South Africa, but fairly common in the western Cape. I found a couple yesterday and decided to take a pic for @papa-pepper's photo combo competition: https://steemit.com/contest/@papa-pepper/combination-photography-contest-from-papa-pepper-week-8.

I placed the tortoise next to an Arum Lily, another indigenous South African plant. You might know it as a Calla lily. Although it is native to Southern Africa it has been widely introduced throughout the world and I believe is invasive in many areas. Still, it is one of my favourite flowers.

IMG_20171009_112501.jpg

In the first photo I took, Mr Tortoise was still a bit shy and hiding, but you can see why he is called the Angulate Tortoise, because of the angulate plate in front, clearly visible here.

IMG_20171009_112358.jpg

I also found another Angulate Tortoise nearby, but this fellow had suffered from one of the many veldfires that have plagued the Cape recently. Nevertheless, despite the burnt shell he seemed to be okay and once I left him alone continued on his merry way.

IMG_20171009_112734.jpg

Finally I took a selfie with the tortoise as required by the contest. Then I put him back where I'd found him.

Tortoises should NEVER be taken out of the wild to become your pet, this is both cruel and illegal in South Africa. They are best left wild.

IMG_20171009_112541.jpg

Sort:  


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2000 followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Good lost mam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61955.50
ETH 2904.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71