Thunder Storms, Tornado Watches and Freeze Warnings - OH MY

in #tornado6 years ago

I lived through my first tornado warning last night. It started around 9:30. Being old people, we had already settled down for the night, knowing that there would be storms coming through. I was awoken by Meeka becoming rather frantic. I noticed that there was lightning and figured I'd get up to watch the storm for awhile. I opened the shades and settled in. We are parked in a little bowl, so I was unable to see any actual lightning, just the sky flashes. The thunder was quite impressive and the sound of the rain on the roof of the trailer was pretty.

Just before 10PM, sirens started going off. I've never lived in an area with tornadoes, so I wasn't sure what, exactly, the siren meant. Moments later there was an announcement from a truck driving through the park saying there was a storm warning and we should move to shelter. I woke Brian up, got dressed and we took the truck over to the bathrooms. We hung out there for about 15 minutes before the all clear.

The sirens went off a couple of times through out the night, but we only took shelter the first time. Tonight, we returned to our camper to find a notice that we must disconnect from the water supply as it will be below freezing. We are headed south tomorrow in search of a little sun and warmth!

Now, for the next.

Sort:  

if you want more upvotes check out my last blog post @a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62887.03
ETH 2682.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55