Mini Tornadoes touching down in various places in my region yesterday

in #tornado8 years ago (edited)

We had some very severe winter weather yesterday. Usually we don’t even get rain in our region during winter but yesterday we had quite a number of mini tornadoes over quite a wide area.

As these were not the huge destroyers found in tornado alley and are less life threatening, quite a few of these were captured by people on their mobile phones and uploaded to social media.

I thought this was fitting to go along with the lightning struck tree I put up yesterday from the same area.
https://steemit.com/photography/@gavvet/dry-tree-struck-by-lightning-and-intriguing-effects

I have witnessed these personally myself with three of these mini-twisters touching down simultaneously a couple of years back

Here are a couple of the clips of yesterday's twisters from social media.




The tornado’s were more severe in other places and are getting plenty of media coverage

https://www.enca.com/south-africa/in-pictures-tornado-tunnels-through-tembisa
http://ewn.co.za/2016/07/26/Tornado-in-Magaliesburg

Sort:  

That's bringing a lot of steem your way!

Indeed is beautiful. Have not seen before in my life. Must be a good experience, huh!

Most of the ones at my place have come through during the night... sounds like a howling freight train when its close... others I have watched from the distance.

Aren't you worry it might swipe your place?

does it happen often? how were you able to get so close?

not me, other people shot this footage

The Tembisa Tornado - Sounds like a movie title haha. The tornadoes touched down about 15 min from where i stay, and we had snow in our garden that morning. Wtf is happening ith the weather in SA

Yup, for a place that's not even supposed to get rain in winter things are pretty messed up.

Anyone for a climate change discussion?

Nice shoot.
Cool close upp catch, its newer happend in my country. Would like to see it in real life :0

Mother nature at work. We don't get tornadoes where I am at. Guess I have to travel to the US to see one!! :D

The disaster that is very frightening

scary, but it looks cool !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63818.94
ETH 2624.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78