Aaron Jayjack :: Storm chaser and severe weather videographer

in #tornado8 years ago

Hello! I found my way here on a tip from a very close friend who must think I live a very interesting lifestyle.

Everyone should have a passion. Actually, I've noticed that your passion follows you through all walks of life - or at least that's an ideal scenario. My biggest passion, and what I hope is something unique to bring to this community, is storm chasing and videography of severe weather events.

While I am an IT expert for a career, my hobby of storm chasing and videography are the unique trait I will mostly focus on here. My interest in severe weather goes back as far as I can remember. I have been studying, chasing, and tracking severe weather since the 1990s; briefly studying at Purdue University for Atmospheric Sciences before changing degrees. I've continued my interest in weather through my own adventurous getaways, chasing supercells across the plains of the United States. Along the way I've grown a love for photography and videography.

For my first post and introduction, I'd like to share with you a highlight video that I put together of my chasing adventures this past spring. I was able to video and document a rare anticyclonic tornado in Big Spring, TX on May 22nd in 4K video - a first ever 4K capture of an anticyclonic tornado - and it was quite a beauty.

Hope you all enjoy the video!

Sort:  

Excellent!! Welcome to Steemit. I too am fascinated by the weather. Once I caught terrible hailstorm on camera, and another time I caught a bolt of lightning right in front of me. My work has me travelling new places and often right during intense storms. Wherever I go, let it rain or snow, sun or shine! Keep that camera rolling all the time @aaronjayjack

Thanks darkflame! I was about to say the same! Always keep that camera on you!

I wasn't familiar with anticyclonic tornados, so I had to look up what they are. It seems there are only a dozen or so notable ones on record, and there's a photo of yours in the Wikipedia article. Congrats on the find!

Thanks dras! Yep, you are correct, that pic is courtesy of me, from the anticyclonic tornado in Big Spring, TX on May 22nd of this year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60856.28
ETH 2937.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44