Top Hats are awesome!

in #tophat8 years ago (edited)

Top hats inspire elegance and distinction (As my picture displays...;)) ; They were first wore by the upper class men of England after a hatter named Georges Dunnage came with the first silk top hat in 1793 (thanks wikipedia). Back then, people were indeed very traditional; The first man seen wearing a top hat in public caused a near riot and was taken to court for wearing “a tall structure having a shining luster calculated to frighten timid people.” True story. According to a newspaper account, “passersby panicked at the sight. Several women fainted, children screamed, dogs yelped, and an errand boy’s arm was broken when he was trampled by the mob.” I personally think that from that precise moment, the purpose of the top hat was indeed fulfilled. There has never been a more sophisticated and dominating hat in fashion, til today. And that’s a fact.
Within 20 years, it became popular with all social classes… but it’s not because any cunt could wear one that it lost its refinement (Yes, I did put the words “cunt” and “refinement” in the same sentence…now that’s refine). Through the years, it became less and less suitable for the everyday life and less and less mainstream… It then became a statement maker and mostly awesome people was wearing them. That’s right. Fred Astaire, Marlene Dietrich, Abraham Lincoln, Johnny Depp, Slash…. Those iconic people got laid 33% more just by wearing a top hat, and that is also a fact*.

When I first entered the famous Henri Henri hat store in Montreal, I wasn’t sure what i was looking for… I just knew I wanted a nice quality hat and not the crappy ones you buy at H&M… Hat people will understand. I mean, I love all hats, I always did… hats are awesome. They add to your style and give you character. But just because you are a character, doesn’t mean that you have character, right mr. Wolf? Well, don’t expect the hat to give you character if you are lacking personality and authenticity; It won’t. But it will make you look cool for a moment.

So when I saw this beautiful and opulent top hat on display and I put it on my head, I felt reborn. I have to precise that this was back in 2013, when even the hipsters were barely wearing hats and when my ratio of fucks given was decreasing every day. Therefore, the idea of wearing such a hat on regular basis didn’t even appear a second as odd or ridiculous. I was loving it and there’s nothing anyone could have done about it. I was wearing my top hat almost all the time. Grocery shopping, top hat. Tacos Tuesday, top hat. Stripper night, top hat.
I loved my top hat so much that when I forgot it in a Nyc cab after a quite colorful night at The box , I went straight back to Henri Henri as soon as I could to get the exact same one. It wasn’t the first or last time that my drunk ass cost me money…
Anyhow, I do wear my precious top hat less often now, but it still has a very special place in my heart, along with my spirit animal; The mad hatter.

So, that’s why the top hat is the face of NGAF, not only because it is an amazing fashion accessory. But also because for me, it’s The thing that any hateful comment or dirty look couldn’t have changed a fucking thing to what I wanted to do. And that’s how you’re supposed to roll through life. You wanna wear the hat, just wear it. And if you want to be a damn pirate, so be it. Why do we need a special occasion in order to dress up like we want?

It’s only embarrassing if you care what people think….

*Please refer to my fictional fact book, along with my questionable morals book and also my I do what I want book.

Sort:  

Great job Mad-Top-Hatter! I love the acrobatic moves in there too, as well as the easy smile your writing gave me. Namaste :)

hahahaha! Amazing. Love this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39