Top 10 StarTech SATA Cables | User Reviews

in #top3 years ago

StarTech.com USB 3.0 to SATA IDE Adapter - 2.5in / 3.5in - External Hard Drive to USB Converter – Hard Drive Transfer Cable (USB3SSATAIDE)

StarTech.com USB 3.0 to SATA IDE Adapter - 2.5in / 3.5in - External Hard Drive to USB Converter – Hard Drive Transfer Cable (USB3SSATAIDE) JPG

Top Reviews:

Pros: works with both SATA and IDE drivesCons: powers the drive down after only a few seconds of inactivity, which I can't figure out to change.

Good transfer rates and flexibility. This works as good as an external enclosure, but pay attention what order you plug things in, as there's no power switch and the controller might not be recognized if you effectively try hot plugging the IDE or Sata connector.Kind of a mess of connectors but still doesn't take up much space. I wish the power adapter wasn't a wall wart and had a pigtail.

Defraged a 2.5 hdd on my 3.5 hdd desktop without issues.

StarTech.com USB 2.0 to IDE SATA Adapter - 2.5 / 3.5" SSD / HDD - USB to IDE & SATA Converter Cable - USB Hard Drive Adapter (USB2SATAIDE),Black

StarTech.com USB 2.0 to IDE SATA Adapter - 2.5 / 3.5" SSD / HDD - USB to IDE & SATA Converter Cable - USB Hard Drive Adapter (USB2SATAIDE),Black JPG

Top Reviews:

I bought this to get data off a dead external hard drive, whose problem was the power components built into the external case (rather than with the hard drive itself.) I needed something with the old-style power adapter, since the hard drive is old and the computer has a newer style of power connectors. This has options for both old and new power connections, as well as older and newer SATA connections (where the data cable plugs into the hard drive.) It worked very well for my purposes.Note that I had an initial problem (failure to follow directions!) which you can avoid like so: After plugging the power and data cables into the hard drive, you need to plug in its power BEFORE connecting to the computer's USB port. The LED light will go on, showing that the drive has got power. Then and only then, plug the USB cable into the computer. The drive should show up as a new drive in a few seconds.Another word of advice, in general rather than because of any problems with this drive: I suggest you copy files to or from an external drive, rather than cutting and pasting them, especially if you're moving many at once. This ensures that if there's an interruption in the data transfer for any reason (like accidentally pulling the cord, or your computer going to sleep) you will avoid any possible data corruption.

Upon receipt of the box and components contained within, which includes (i) Driver CD (Note* It is a Mini-CD, Not standard size); (ii) Country Adapter with Fuse for Power Adapter; (iii) Country Adapter; (iv) eSata Cable, (v) Power Supply for each of the 3 options provided - SATA and both IDE. Performs perfectly if used correctly. Make note that after the Driver is installed shutdown the computer completely; then plug in the hard-drive you wish to access to the StarTech device; after this power on the computer. When the computer completes starting up it will have installed the device driver ** Make sure the CD contained within the box is in the CD tray when your computer has been started to ensure the appropriate driver is installed. Following this you will have access to your drives with no problems. As it states in the manual contained within the box I HIGHLY RECOMMEND that you be patient, shut-down the computer, and then after the computer has completely shut-off then disconnect the hard drive *Better safe than sorry". Bottom Line - If you are needing heavy use this is not the device for you, obviously at this price. However, if you are like me and need something like this a few times a year it is perfect.

I love this device. It's worth spending the few extra bucks to get the quality and warranty included with the StarTech.com cable. I recently threw away an old computer but kept its two internal IDE hard drives, an internal IDE DVD burner, and an internal SATA (which I had a device to convert it to IDE) DVD burner. My two hard drives now work through my laptop's USB port. All I had to do is plug them in, power on the cable, go to Disk Management in the Control Panel, and assign and partition the volumes as NTFS. This took two minutes per drive. My DVD burners worked immediately (one as IDE and the other as SATA) and burn much quicker than my laptop's internal burner. This product works exactly like I had hoped.One thing to keep in mind is that using this to plug in old drives is not the best idea for storage you need to access and manipulate often. Data transfer is slow. I have a 2 TB external hard drive and am now using these old internal hard drives to back up all data on that drive in case in breaks. For this purpose, only using the cable once a month or so to back up data to these old drives, I highly recommend the adapter.

StarTech - PYO4SATA .com 15.7-Inch (400mm) SATA Power Splitter Adapter Cable - M/F - 4x Serial ATA Power Cable Splitter (PYO4SATA) Black

StarTech - PYO4SATA .com 15.7-Inch (400mm) SATA Power Splitter Adapter Cable - M/F - 4x Serial ATA Power Cable Splitter (PYO4SATA) Black JPG

Top Reviews:

Good cable for right situation with stacked, well spaced drives but will not work for closely stacked 2.5" drives such as SSDs. That's what I needed so this cable didn't work for me. Cable comes out sides of plugs so stacked drives would have to be at least 1.5 to 2" apart and not more than about 3".

Bought one of these so I could power 6 hard disks split across two adjacent cages from one 3x SATA power lead from the PSU; however, the spacing between these connectors makes that infeasible. I would need a few extra inches between the first (next to the female socket) and second connectors to make it across to the other cage. As it stands, regardless of how I wire them, I would only be able to power 5 of the 6 hard disks with this cable.

This came with one of the four SATA power connectors broken and unusable. Shipping was in a flat bubble pack, so it might have happened then.As I only need three ports I can use it, but I was disappointed. At the price, it isn’t worth returning.

StarTech.com 12in SATA Serial ATA Cable - SATA cable - Serial ATA 150/300 - SATA (F) to SATA (F) - 1 ft - red - SATA12

StarTech.com 12in SATA Serial ATA Cable - SATA cable - Serial ATA 150/300 - SATA (F) to SATA (F) - 1 ft - red - SATA12 Photo

Top Reviews:

I really like these and I'm sad to see that they have apparently been discontinued. These are thinner and more flexible, and of better quality all around, than the few other round cable SATA models from OKGear, Rosewill, Nippon, etc. Note that Startech lists the overall length, so the 6" cables only have a little over 4.5" of flexible cable. I wish the industry would get together and all do it the same way because sometimes that little discrepancy matters in an application. I would have bought several of the longer versions and some straight connector versions, but the prices now are ridiculous, except for this little one which they must have a lot of left over. The connector heads on these are pretty slim, too, so no trouble using them on stacked ports or tight locations (that cannot be said for the OKGear and others). If only they were just a touch longer they would be useful in more places.

I had a 20 inch SATA cable, and it was just a little too short to reach my SSD drive. This cable was just the right length. The right angle worked well for the drive, and it's a nice bright red. There's no metal clip to connect it the SATA port in the motherboard, but that makes it easier to use, actually. It was what I needed, and it's doing the job. I'm happy with the purchase.

II purchased a few of these bad boys because I wanted to install a second graphics card in my computer and one bank of SATA ports sits right in the path AND points directly up. I figured angled cables would allow me to install the second 6970. Turns out they were just a little too high for this use, and i ended up wedging the card down and forcing them to lean forward slightly, like someone leaning into a strong wind.They are so well made that they stood up to that pressure and didn't damage the SATA ports on my board, and rocked steady until I purchased another set of cable with a more shallow 90 degree bend, some Phobya sleeved ones. Now they are my backup, one day to be used in another side project.Great cables but just a little too tall to slide under my fat graphics card.

StarTech.com 12in SATA to LP4 Power Cable Adapter F/M - SATA to LP4 Power Adapter - SATA Female to LP4 Male Power Cable - 12 inch (LP4SATAFM12)

StarTech.com 12in SATA to LP4 Power Cable Adapter F/M - SATA to LP4 Power Adapter - SATA Female to LP4 Male Power Cable - 12 inch (LP4SATAFM12) Photo

Top Reviews:

Got this for use in a Dell Precision 380 tower computer that I had to replace the power supply in. The SATA power plugs are to big to allow me to put the cover back on.Giving it 4 stars because it works as designed, has good quality and workmanship and came in a reusable and resealable plastic bag.

Dell is currently charging $350 to add a 256GB SSD drive (most likely Liteon) to the x51 model currently selling for $1149. There isn't even an option for adding an SSD to the lower cost x51 models. (I purchased the model one step below this base price but containing the GTX 760 ti graphic card, assuming it's the graphic card that matters most and not so much the CPU).Guess what? You can buy a Samsung Evo 250GB SSD drive on Amazon for $153.99. Pay yourself $200 for doing the following:Read instructions for installing an SSD by an Alienware enthusiast after doing a search for "PYO1LP4SATA upgrade alienware". The upgrade is very easy and does not take too long. What does take long is installing Windows 8 and Alienware Command Center on your new SSD drive.Installing an SSD is much easier than you think -- I open up my computer case once every 3-4 years, so while I may seem knowledgeable relative to the average consumer I am by no means an expert or comfortable with computers.One thing the instructions do not mention are the following: 1) you need a sata cable in addition to this power y cable; 2) if your original HDD is small enough, first see if there is software that comes with your SSD drive that will copy over all data and settings onto the SSD because reinstalling from scratch was very time consuming; 3) if you reinstall everything from scratch, you will need to find copies of Alienware Command Center and a few drivers. Do a search for "Product support for Alienware X51 R2" or whatever your model is to get the relevant page.I am pleased with the results of adding an SSD to my x51 r2. It takes about 10 seconds to load BF4, and restarting the system computer after an update takes just a few seconds. This is super compared to painfully long loading times I experienced with my previous computer running on a HDD. You might think it doesn't matter so much, but I tell you once you experience it it's super -- like going from picking cotton manually to the cotton gin.One more thing that may be relevant to Alienware x51 upgraders: the original 1TB drive that comes with the Alienware x51 r2 is a Western Digital Blue. I replaced mine with a 3TB Western Digital Black -- I wanted a drive that supposedly has a low chance of failure because it's where I want to store and access all my family photos and videos. It's working well so far.

Work most of the time

StarTech.com Shielded External eSATA Cable - eSATA cable - Serial ATA 150 - eSATA (M) to eSATA (M) (3 ft) - black (ESATA3)

StarTech.com Shielded External eSATA Cable - eSATA cable - Serial ATA 150 - eSATA (M) to eSATA (M) (3 ft) - black (ESATA3) Photo

Top Reviews:

Cable is well insulated but a bit too rigid. Solid transfer rates and no lost packets. Overall very good performance.

don't know drive didn;t work

Just hooked it up and so far it's working. No torture tests or thruput tests yet.One thing: the picture on the Amazon page shows a flat eSATA cable, but the one that I received is round. Not sure if it matters, as long as it works, but it's always nice when the product matches the picture.

StarTech.com 6in Slimline SATA to SATA Adapter with Power - Slim SATA (F) to SATA (M) - Slimline Serial ATA to SATA (SLSATAADAP6) , Red

StarTech.com 6in Slimline SATA to SATA Adapter with Power - Slim SATA (F) to SATA (M) - Slimline Serial ATA to SATA (SLSATAADAP6) , Red Photo

Top Reviews:

Fa quello che deve ma, col senno di poi, avrei optato per altri prodotti più flessibili (sia come utilizzo che come materiali), che costano uguale. Si cerchi Silverstone.

Once again Startech makes good on a basic cable to make the whole computer run; I have yet to see a lack of quality using Startech connectors and internal cables. The finish is made to last!

Works like it's supposed to, but the SATA data connection on the larger side doesn't offer a very physically secure connection: left to its own devices it might just fall off. So I used some adhesive to ensure this will not happen.

StarTech.com 6in 4 Pin LP4 to Left Angle SATA Power Cable Adapter - LP4 to SATA Power Adapter (SATAPOWADPL)

StarTech.com 6in 4 Pin LP4 to Left Angle SATA Power Cable Adapter - LP4 to SATA Power Adapter (SATAPOWADPL) Photo

Top Reviews:

Was never able to tell whether this device works or not, since I only have 1 desktop PC these days and the other parts (SATA drive, etc.) seemed sketchy too. Unsure which component it is since I don't have a plethora of spares around anymore to verify it with (I used to run my own PC repair and network consulting business). Didn't return it in time, so now I'm stuck with a part of unknown quality. At least this part was cheap."sketchy" > The plug was near-impossible to insert, which indicates poor manufacturing quality controls. Any attempt to insert the plug would force the wires out of their place. Installed one or two power lugs previously, first time I've seen one made so cheaply that it didn't even work.

If you need to adapt a four pin Molex power connector to a SATA Power connector, then this is for you. Good quality. Connectors fit properly ( If Molex can ever be said to fit properly!). I got a couple, one to replace a lost piece, and one for a spare.

This is not a very complicated product. I needed a SATA cable but all of my SATA cables on my power supply were used up so I was only left with the 4 pin Molex cables in my power supply. Enter this product. I bought this and it worked as promised. The connection is solid and now I am able to make use of another SATA cable. The product arrived in a sealed plastic bag, so I knew that it was brand new.Oddly enough, my first order did not arrive in my packaging and Amazon accidently sent me a lightning charger cable. I was like, "what?" Anyway, I sent a replacement request to Amazon and received the correct product a few days later. Gotta love the customer service at Amazon. Buy with confidence.If you are experiencing a similar situation to mine, you should definitely get this item. Oh, and a bonus is that it will help extend your connection by about 5", which was also perfect for my needs because I already had my case cables tied down and I did not need to cut my zip ties to use this power cable. Outstanding!

StarTech.com 12in LP4 to 2x Latching SATA Power Y Cable Splitter Adapter - 4 Pin LP4 to Dual SATA Y Splitter (PYO2LP4LSATA)

StarTech.com 12in LP4 to 2x Latching SATA Power Y Cable Splitter Adapter - 4 Pin LP4 to Dual SATA Y Splitter (PYO2LP4LSATA) Picture

Top Reviews:

Couldn't be happier! Works perfectly. Saved me from purchasing new power supply since running out SATA connections. I am a happy camper my device is now powered up and operational.

I have purchased this item on a couple of occasions for use in computers I have built. It always seems you do not have the cable you need when you are building a new PC. I now try to have a couple extra on hand in case I need them and they are inexpensive

Il cavo fa la sua funzione, i pin dal lato Molex sono un po' mobili ma nulla di non aggiustabile e sistemabile.Il prodotto arriva all'interno di un cellophane trasparente con chiusura a strappo, dove al suo interno possiamo trovare un Cavo/Adattatore da Molex a SATA.Utile per quando bisogna aggiungere un nuovo Hard disk ma non si hanno cavi per l'alimentazione SATA liberi.

StarTech.com 12in 15 pin SATA Power Extension Cable - SATA Power Male to Female Extender - 12 Inch SATA Power Extension Cord (SATAPOWEXT12)

StarTech.com 12in 15 pin SATA Power Extension Cable - SATA Power Male to Female Extender - 12 Inch SATA Power Extension Cord (SATAPOWEXT12) Photo

Top Reviews:

Did the job, exactly as advertised

I built my first gaming pc a month ago and in the process, I realized my drives were going to need cable extensions... I found these, got next day delivery, and I was able to complete the build. Build savers.

good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59351.18
ETH 2529.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42