Tom Ford's Amazing Red Lipstick - Ruby Rush.

in #tom7 years ago (edited)

Younger Me.jpg

I wanted a lipstick to give me confidence; it was a meeting at my son's school with his Head of Year. I wanted to look classic, smart, on the ball and competent. I joined the queue that snaked out the door of Harvey Nicks in London. Steered by my arm by a good looking black bouncer and out the door I waited to try on cool star Rhianna's new cosmetic line. The skin bases were thick and luxurious, the lipsticks metallic and cool; I picked one in autumnal copper and decided to wear it round the shop to see if it suited me. I caught my reflection in various mirrors and decided that it did. On my way back to the Rhianna desk I passed Tom Ford and saw a girl called Dion I had often chatted to in the old days when I worked in Fleet Street as a hack and perused Harvey Nicholls as a kind of a treat and wind down after work. Dion knew just what I needed for my meeting - a navy suit and 'this' - she flourished Ruby Rush with a smile. It was a pigment rich ruby, old fashioned matte. Dion gasped after I applied it - which I have to say was fun as it went on like trying on your mum's lippy as a kid - exciting.... like thick acrylic on a pure canvas. I wore it out onto the street across a busy High Street to Top Shop and the first thing I noticed was a cute twenty something tailing me - he had taken one cool glance at my mouth, then another and then he was smitten. My fan chased me down Brompton Road trying to get my phone number announcing how I was older than him, but beautiful. I told him I was happily paired up to get rid of this eager little puppy and went on my way noticing that men's heads were turning and they were all looking in the direction of my mouth. I went back into Harvey's and passed Yves St Laurent where the girl behind the desk beamed at my lips, 'magnificent lip colour - hope you bought it' she grinned. I felt like an empress... the lipstick moving before me announcing my arrival as someone to be noticed. It was 40 pounds. But like a middle aged man forking out for a Ferrari that came with a hot girl - so did my lipstick (and it should do at that price.) I made it to the meeting and what I got was respect. 'Wear it everyday.' said a friend on facebook when I shared my story. Like a child smearing on her mother's forbidden jewel coloured feminine secret weapon - I will wear it daily and tread the boards of life letting it part the waves before me. Tom Ford I'm yours baby!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61932.16
ETH 3422.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49