GEORGE LOVELESS AND THE MARTYRS TO THE TIDES OF Neo-Liberal TYRANNY.

tolpuddle.jpeg

Tolpuddle Martyrs.

George Loveless wrote on a scrap of paper the following lines:

God is our guide! from field, from wave,
From plough, from anvil, and from loom;
We come, our country's rights to save,
And speak a tyrant faction's doom:
We raise the watch-word liberty;
We will, we will, we will be free!

God is our guide! from field, from wave,
From plough, from anvil, and from loom;
We come, our country's rights to save,
And speak a tyrant faction's doom:
We raise the watch-word liberty;
We will, we will, we will be free!

God is our guide! from field, from wave,
From plough, from anvil, and from loom;
We come, our country's rights to save,
And speak a tyrant faction's doom:
We raise the watch-word liberty;
We will, we will, we will be free!

God is our guide! from field, from wave,
From plough, from anvil, and from loom;
We come, our country's rights to save,
And speak a tyrant faction's doom:
We raise the watch-word liberty;
We will, we will, we will be free!

loveless libert sheet music.jpg

https://tolpuddlemartyrs.online-today.co.uk/wewillbefree.mp3

God is our guide! no swords we draw,
We kindle not war's battle fires;
By reason, union, justice, law,
We claim the birth-right of our sires;
We raise the watch-word, liberty,
We will, we will, we will be free!

'We Will Be Free' mp3 - ©Graham Moore

http://www.bymoore.co.uk/cd2.html

http://tolpuddlemartyrs.online-today.co.uk/2.html

http://www.tolpuddlemethodists.org.uk/songOfFreedom.html

[youtube

https://grahamoore.blogspot.com/p/lyrics.html
Lyrics

Song Lyrics - copyright Graham Moore

In concert Graham draws on a wide range of material.

Here is a selection of his own writing from the CD 'Tom Paine's Bones' and also from his folk musicals:
Tolpuddle Man - the true story of the Tolpuddle Martyrs
The Last of England - a sequel to the above (now combined with Tolpuddle Man)
England Expects - Dorset villagers prepare for invasion by Bonaparte (links to works of Thomas Hardy)
Dick O'The Banks - a draconian squire imposes enclosure on a Dorset village (links to Hardy and William Barnes)

TOM PAINE’S BONES(G.Moore)
As I dreamed out last evening by a river of discontent
I bumped right into old Tom Paine
As a-running down the road he went
He said I can’t stop right now my son King Georgy’s after me
He’ll have a rope around my throat and hang me on the liberty tree

And I will dance to Tom Paine’s bones
I will dance to Tom Paine’s bones
I’ll dance in the oldest boots I own
To the rhythm of Tom Paine’s bones (rpt)

He said I just wrote about freedom and justice for everyone
Ever since the very first word I spoke
I’ve been looking down the barrel of a gun
Well they say I preached revolution but let me say in my defence
All I did wherever I went was to talk a lot of Common Sense

Well old Tom Paine he ran so fast he left me standing still
And there I was a piece of paper in my hand
Standing at the top of the hill
And it read "this is the Age of Reason these are the Rights of Man
Kick off religion & monarchy" it was written there in Tom Paine’s plan

Poor old Tom Paine there he lies
Nobody Laughs and nobody cries
Where he’s gone or how he fares
Nobody knows and nobody cares

Graham Moore.jpg
https://grahamoore.blogspot.com/
Graham Moore
Home Music Lyrics Thomas Paine Tolpuddle Martyrs Contact
Graham Moore - Dorset - UK
RINGWOOD FOLK CLUB
Tuesday 16th April - 8pm
The Wathen-Bartlett
Pound Lane
Burley BH24 4EB
Adjacent to The Burley Inn

TOLPUDDLE MAN
Friday May 17th - 8pm (doors open 7.30pm)
Shire Hall Historic Courthouse
Dorchester, Dorset

Tickets & Info

Graham Moore, James Findlay, Phil Humphries, John Waltham & Chris Miller, present songs and scenes from the renowned folk musical
‘Tolpuddle Man’, staged in the original Old Crown Court, where
the six Dorset, Tolpuddle Martyrs were tried in 1834.

--
0046702273052
skype: rogerglewis
Skype telephone number +46406931188
Portfolio of on line Profiles( Go on be Nosy ) CLICK HERE PLEASE
#ConquestofDough

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63439.39
ETH 2545.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66