You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [STEEMFEST TAKEAWAY] The Usecases for TokenBB

in #tokenbb5 years ago (edited)

I had exactly the same idea! My current website looks very bland and business-y but I am doing a revamp making a custom WordPress theme to give my site(s) a more "gaming" feel to it (finally!).

I wanted to use Steemit as a forum both on my main website and my games portal so TokenBB is definitely interesting based on the OTHER stuff I've already done!

The backstory
For years I've been working towards creating a system where people can create their own games and share content between those games. It's been available commercially for over half a decade already and the reviews from people using it has been phenomenal.

Irony ahead...
How it work is that you install the plugins onto your website once (done that years ago) and now you are setup an ready for all current and future games to store all their data to the cloud and sync (real time) to any device you happen to have. Additionally, you can now share data between games. Getting the games ready to use this system is as simple as giving my plugin a website URL and a Game ID and you are good to go.... It takes less than 2 minutes per game to get it plugged into the system and you are good to go...

Wait for it...
After building this system for creating a games portal with 0 effort I then went and bought the most awesome of domain names to use with it... One that jut BEGS to be used for a social gaming site!

  • So now that I have created a system for cross game data sharing and various other systems to compliment it...
  • created shortcodes that help generate your website content for you...
  • own a domain that just BEGS to be used for gaming and ...
  • have had a number of customers ship games using my system over the years...

...I, personally, have been so busy doing contract work this last half a decade that I haven't gotten around to completing even a single game of my own to use with my own system on my own site! :(

Not giving up!
I said I was definitely going to do so in 2018! ...yet I still have no time... So definitely in 2019, definitely! ;) lol

Now, regarding my existing currency systems...
As part of the games portal I've created a virtual currency system for the ecosystem.

  • It integrates with Tapjoy so you can reward players with virtual currency for showing ads or downloading free games or what have you
  • Additionally, with 0 config at all, you can create as many virtual currencies for your games as you choose. Literally 0 config! Just start using it and it gets created as soon a you do
  • Currencies can be spent across devices / platform so, for example, earn currency via Tapjoy using your iPad and then spend that currency in a game running on your smart TV...
  • Using WooCommerce, simply by using a custom SKU for the product, you can sell that virtual currency on your website using whatever payment gateways you have setup. I, for one, accept PayPal and a wide variety of crypto (including Steem)

For all of that...
The one thing I have always wanted to do but failed at (hard!) has been to incorporate crypto directly into this ecosystem... The main stumbling block to using Steem or BitCoin etc was the fact that you had to go through an exchange. For me to create a system to give to you to install on your website to enable others to buy stuff from you using crypto without going through a third party... that just wasn't going to happen.

It seems I am stuck with having to sell in-game content via WooCommerce as the intermediary ...i.e. people have to go to the website and can't buy items directly from inside the game unless they spend the virtual currency. Crypto is out. I so badly wanted to let people use Steem to buy stuff directly from within the game but that just isn't in the cards :(

Back to the future
One of the upcoming plugins I am creating is an auction house where players can sell goods to one another. Play the RPG, find a rare steering wheel, auction it off to PlayerX who is playing the racing game. This steering wheel is actually a booster item in the racing game as well as atrophy in the RPG so now, because he has it in his inventory, PlayerX has a customised car because he bought a trophy item from PlayerY who found the item while playing a completely different game. This is what I have in store for the near future..!

And this is where you come in
My goal is give people tools they can use in-game and, where possible, on the website also. This auction house will be accessible inside any and all games that the developers put it into (just skin it to your game and job done) while also being accessible via the website. I am absolutely open to giving people as many payment options as I can both for the auction house and the existing currency system

... adding a forum that will allow my community to earn a currency they can spend on the site or in the game... Heck yes! The way I understand your system is that it works the same way as Steemit does where people get rewarded for getting upvoted / likes but doing so gives them a virtual currency which I will then have access to and can create a system for them to spend that currency either on the website or inside the game. If I am understanding this right then I am definitely very interested in this! Also, to see how this system will help me build a community for my community based site... :D (In 2019, definitely... ;) )

Keep up the good work. Looking forward to the release! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93