Todays report

in #todaysreport6 years ago

I met with a couple of people I did interviews with today and one wrote me a letter about the child prostitution at Bonnycastle park.

The other is going to write me about his friend in care that got shot in the head. In the letter he wrote about growing up in care he said this was his brother but what he meant was they were very close friends, in the same gang and he really looked up to him. Also natives often use brother as a reference to their very close friends.
This will be part of the killed in care series.

https://www.winnipegfreepress.com/historic/31545284.html

Here is an article on him. I cannot see the full thing because Winnipeg Freepress is not free.
It says that Preston was only in the city for 2 months before he was sent back home in a coffin. He was put into care because of behavior problems. He was killed by a 13 year old who said it was an accident.

So in the letter that told a bit of this story we seem to have some corrections to make as we are going off memory and the first time I interview people I do not prepare them in anyway other them sometimes asking about the park downtown where CFS boys were sexually exploited and to not name any of those kids on camera.

Preston was not 17 he was 15.

The guy I did an interview with was not related to Preston but was in the same gang (street family) and he had a lot of respect and looked up to him.

He is going to meet up some time this week to go further into this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97