TODAY IS NATIONAL CEREAL DAY!

in #todayis6 years ago

image.png

image.png

image.png
Image source

CEREAL REMEMBERED

At my age,
Steel cut oatmeal is all the rage!

With cinnamon and honey,
No more breakfast with the Trix’s bunny.

A favorite in my youth,
It satisfied my sweet tooth.

But, today it’s healthy choices,
That make my heart and waist rejoice.

So, forgive me as I reminisce,
Of my youthful cereal bliss!

Saturday morning cartoons,
With a bowl of cereal and a spoon.

Toy prizes in the box,
Certainly, did rock.

Cap’n Crunch, I could munch,
Breakfast, dinner, and lunch!

Sugar Pops,
Were also tops!

Cereal and I will always have a connection,
With age it just changes direction!

image.png

It is funny how there are cycles in life. These apply to everything, even cereal. As a child, I gobbled down the sugar laden cereals. Now, I opt for steel cut oatmeal, a healthy cereal. I note this because original prepackaged cereal was considered a health food. At some point, tons of sugar sweetened the cereal I enjoyed as a child. The current cycle is the return to healthier cereal. Many companies are removing high fructose corn syrup from their products, using Non-GMO ingredients, and natural coloring to make their cereal a healthier choice.

Here is a commercial I remember seeing as a kid!

image.png

More FREE Upvotes:Steemfollower

image.png

image.png

Sort:  

I am still guilty of eating cereal! :) I do go for the healthier varieties, but sometimes it's all I want in the mornings!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch . If your post has more upvotes, your post will appear in the trending page. To get more upvotes, you can bid for @steembidbot vote. please check it out here: https://steembottracker.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42