Rapé (phonetic: Ha-Pay) - The Tobacco Medicine from the Amazon

in #tobacco8 years ago

Rapé is a medicine from the Amazon Jungle (Brazil, Peru, Equador, Colombia) that is used traditionally to open one's mind. It is made from various plants and ashes, which are grinded to a very fine powder. The person making the rapé has a big influence, as the amount of attention put into the product determines the quality and the effect. It is blown up the nose using a tube made from bamboo or bone. The material is absorbed through the mucus, and psychoactive effects can be experienced for a period of 5 minutes up to 1 hour, depending on the strength and the dose of the snuff. Most of the snuff is expelled from the body through sneezing, spitting, and in some cases vomiting. It is a cleansing experience. 

The immediate effects are a stinging pain in the nasal area, followed by a prolonged period where one can experience clarity of mind and thought. Rapé is often used in conjunction with ayahuasca, where it can help to center one's mind. It allows you to think clearly about yourself and about the things you hold dear.

I have had several experiences with Rapé. Usually one is partaking in a ceremonious setting: no sounds, no talking, meditative. One sits upright and receives the medicine. Often tears run down my face and saliva is running out (I'll spare you the photo's). After a few minutes I blow my nose to get rid of the powders that have nestled themselves in my nasal cavity and clean up all the snot that has accumulated there (it is probably the best thing against a coming cold). Psychologically, I can confirm what I wrote before: Rapé really helps to center my thoughts and to bring my attention to my body, clearing all tensions along the way. 

Most of the times I feel energized and strong afterwards, but with some kinds of rapé, I've experienced having to lie down for half an hour. This is not something to do for fun. 

Sort:  

And thats legal?

Today I wanted to write article about рапэ! Haha, I was ahead of me a little :)
But nevertheless I will write
Yes, it legally, is also not present, it is illegal, everything depends on composition, рапэ it is very serious medicine, very ancient practice, and there are compositions from tobacco and ashes of palm trees, it is authorized, and is with special herbs, it is already forbidden

Thanks for sharing Pieter. I have experience with rapé in Ayahuasca ceremonies... Do you use it outside of ceremonies as well ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94