Tennessee Titans finish 2018 with a 9-7 record.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #titans6 years ago

For the third straight season my favorite NFL team, the Tennessee Titans, finish with a winning record of 9-7. Barely a winning record, but above .500 still.

The season ended with playoff hopes that were cut short by the Indianapolis Colts on the very last game of the season. Essentially a playoff game by itself since it was win or go home for the Colts as well. A game where starting quarterback Marcus Mariota wasn't even playing.

After three straight 9-7 seasons it is easy to wonder if this team will be stuck in mediocrity for the next decade. But I just prefer to be an optimistic fan.

To be a fan of a team you can't just get mad and not enjoy your team every season just because they don't win the championship! It's impossible for a team to win it all every season. Totally unfair to the players as well.

As a fan of a team you should enjoy the good moments, enjoy every win, every good player and every good play. Championships are awesome and I damn sure hope the Titans win a Super Bowl before I die. But I'm not a player, not nearly good enough, duh, all I can do is watch and hope!

The Titans have had a winning record 3 seasons in a row. For three seasons now, if another NFL team faced us, if they were really honest, they know that the Titans are not an easy W. As a fan I really appreciate that fact.

To start, I really like Marcus Mariota. The biggest problem I believe he has at this stage of his career is his ability to stay healthy! If he can get through an entire season without injury, this dude could really be a problem. He really improved significantly in the pocket this season. His footwork was really noticeably better.

Another reason I believe in Marcus is the fact that he has had 3 different head coaches and staffs in his 4 year NFL career. That instability can't be too fun. Despite these coaching changes, in three years as the full-time starter starting in 2016 Week 1 and on the Titans have finished 9-7 each of those years.

Obviously I am not a player so I can't say for certain, but so far I believe Mike Vrabel could potentially be the best coach the team has had in Mariota's career so far. He was a rookie coach but he brought in a very good staff around him. From what I have heard about him and from what I know about his credentials as a football guy I believe he could be a very good coach.

I just also hope that the team can keep Matt LaFleur on the team as the offensive coordinator.

So far GM Jon Robinson has done a pretty solid job of collecting players and staff. I really like his evaluating and economic skills so far. He's another reason to have hope.

If RB's Derrick Henry and Dion Lewis can mesh together well for an ENTIRE season like they did for these last 5-6 games that will be a huge benefit next year.

WR Corey Davis looks like he could be the best receiver the Titans have had since maybe as far back as Derrick Mason. It's such a great feeling knowing the team has a great threat on the outside.

On defense the secondary played solid throughout the year in my opinion. The linebackers had some good moments as well.

All in all the team has good pieces and some momentum for a better 2019 season.

But of course every team needs to improve. So here are areas that I believe the Titans need to address in order to be a better team next year.

  1. Defensive line. The Titans really struggle at creating their own pressure at all. Jurrell Casey is the best tackle on the team but otherwise there hasn't been enough from the d-line in my opinion. Run defense was poor at times also. I would love to see the Titans draft some big young defensive lineman and/or defensive ends. Or pick some guys up. Something. As a fan I'd like to see some more pressure without needing to blitz all the time.

  2. Wide Receiver/TE. Either one but more so at receiver. TE Delanie Walker went out in the first game of the season with a bad leg injury. WR Rishard Matthews randomly asked to be released or traded early his year which hurt the team badly in that department as well. Receiver Taywan Taylor is great but a bit inconsistent. He also was injured at times this season. I would just like to see some more depth when it comes to pass catchers on this team.

  3. Offensive line (Guards). I would really like to see some more consistency here. They play well sometimes but I would love to see some fresh young guards in the mix in Tennessee.

I wouldn't mind seeing the Titans get another good third running back into the mix. Someone in between Henry and Lewis. Nobody flashy just somebody decent honestly. Maybe a late round draft pick or someone super cheap.

Linebackers could use some depth as well.

All in all I am moderately happy with the season since it's over. Of course unless your team wins it all it will never be good enough. But since it's officially over all I can do is look back on it and appreciate it. Another Tennessee Titans season I was thankfully alive to watch!

The Titans beat the Patriots! A bit of revenge from the playoffs and pretty much a tiny piece of revenge from dominating nearly the past 2 decades.

The Titans beat the Eagles and the Cowboys, which are two teams I grew up not liking at all. For various reasons. The Titans beat he Eagles early on in 2018 when the Eagles still had their championship aura.

The Titans swept the Jags which is always nice no matter how good or bad they are. The Titans have actually beaten the Jags in 4 straight games.

The Titans beat the Texans with backup QB Blaine Gabbert early this year which was cool.

The Titans 2018 Season was a rollercoaster ride and I am thankful for the memories it brought.

I found out the other day that 4 year Titan OLB/DE and 10 Year NFL vet Brian Orakpo officially retired after this season ended. I will always remember Orakpo. I will remember him as a great Titan in his 4 years. Very consistent. He was also on my brothers favorite team, the Washington Redskins, for six seasons prior to being a Titan and had a great career there. I will always remember this guy. I hope he has a good life. #Titanup
orakpo-titans-online.jpg
Source

Now I get to watch the playoffs. I wish my team was a part of it but I am such a big NFL fan I can't help but get excited.

How did your team do in 2018? What was your favorite parts of your team's season? How do you want to see your team improve in 2019? Is your team still alive?

Sort:  

Headed in nthe right direction, but it would be great to see them get over the hump next year and make the playoffs. I agree with you on Mariota, and the progress that is so apparent in his game. Staying healthy is the key to continued growth in this young man's game. If he were to stay healthy for a complete year, playoffs would be in the cards for the Titans.
Nice post, keep them coming.

Thanks for the positive support of myself and my Titans! I already miss football, playing a bunch of Madden to fill the void LOL playoffs are still exciting for now though.

Vrabel is a hell of a coach and I think the Titans will only get better from here on out. Hope Marcus stays healthy.

I appreciate the positive comment. Yes I would love to see Marcus stay healthy for one full season. I appreciate your hope. That would be huge. If you're a Chicago Bears fan based on your username go Bears! I really like Trubisky and he's super young still so that's scary. The Bears and the Colts are the dark horses of each conference.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by adhammer95 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69