The Key To More Views On Your Posts; How To Get Your Title Right.

in #tips7 years ago

cover image

You might have the best content in the universe but without the right headline, only a few people will end up reading and discovering you. This is an attempt at helping you get better.

There's nothing worse than spending a large chunk of your time crafting a top quality post only to get zero interaction and zero views.

I was going to write about the art of crafting titles for your posts but I really needed to be sure my tips worked in real life and not just in my head.

So when the opportunity came up, I decided to use the amazing @mz-fisteganos' post as a test rabbit.

Before You Choose A Title

  • Your title/headline needs to basically answer two questions; what's this post about? And what does the reader stand to gain from it?

Social media is generally fast paced and Steemit is not an exception! With the increasing number of accounts being created daily, and a limited attention span, you maybe have just 3 seconds to hook or lose a potential reader.

Let's pass this example "My Boyfriend Told Me About Steemit And I Joined Within 30 Minutes.", through our test questions.

What's this post about? It's about someone's experience with joining Steemit.
What's in it for me? Well a story of how they got an account within 30 minutes while others had waited longer. (Well maybe you didn't get to read about that exactly but you still enjoyed reading the post.)

Your potential reader has very limited time to decide if your post will be worth her while. Make this process very easy by making your title speak for you.

  • Don't Rush This!

I really can't scream this enough. You should never gloss over the process of crafting a title. It's your ticket into people's space.

A malnourished title, not well fed with love, diligence and patience won't appeal to anybody.

You don't have to always go with the first title that pops up. Most times, it's just plain rubbish.

Take your time. Write out every idea that comes to your head then choose the one that blows your mind. If your title does not impress you, you don't have a title yet.

Example
With this post, I had some silly titles I discarded immediately like "How To Title Your Post" then I wrote down "Crafting The Perfect Title" because it sounded more "classy".

Then it occurred to me that this could be a part of a series so my title became "The Key To More Views On Your Posts; How To Get Your Title Right."

With that, my target audience have been identified; folks that want to increase number of views on their posts.

This process took a total of two days and i'm very sure I'd have done better with a little more time and focus.

  • Don't Be Scared Of A Long Title

I know there's the tendency to want to be cryptic or some form of cool but there's nothing cool in having a generic title.

You can't write about your life and just title it "My Life". People will rarely stop to read it when there are other posts with titles like "5 Words That Changed My Life Forever" or "I Went To The End Of The World And You Won't Believe What I Saw".

You see the difference?

  • Capitalizing The First Letter Of Every Word Makes Your Title Look Better.

Yeah sometimes your title might feel like a sentence but never forget this tip. It might not be that much of a strong determining factor but it sure makes your title look and feel better.

You want to know how important a great title is? When you scroll through Steemit, how many posts do you stop to read? Why do you think those posts caught your attention? Does that mean the other posts you didn't read weren't quality posts?

-- as I was writing this, I remembered that one of the first lessons the very nice @kus-knee gave me was on headlines/post titles. Once I got the idea, I was on my way to making it work for me.

Once you get this right, you're on your way to getting Steemit right!


I hope this made any sense to you. Feel free to ask questions here or in Steemit.chat

There are more tips you can always find on my blog. Check them out.

Image Source

Sort:  

thanks a lot for this useful post! will try that in my next posts. I'm new on steemit and I appreciate your dedication to give precise and practical advises that allow us to be more efficient in our craft. have a beautiful day!

Great to have you here. There's a high chance all questions you might have has been answered in one post or the other so anytime you feel stuck, use the search feature to find answers.

Steem on!

Thank you so much for taking the time to educate others. I totally agree with all you say here. I frequently scan down posts and only open those who's title appeals to me. A window on content. X

I frequently scan down posts and only open those who's title appeals to me.

Exactly! So let's give out what we'll like to receive.

Totally agree. As my knowledge of 'how to' in Steemit is limited, I try my best to read as many posts as possible in my limited time available, and comment always with my thoughts - practically all positive, wherever possible. I have only now found resteam, which is a great idea for passing on good work! X

You did what you just thought, nice one

Thanks for the tip @fisteganos. This is very useful since nearly all of us wanted our post to be read by the masses.

This post is life! Thank you.

Great post there. Really important stuff

Your posts are really helping. I have been looking forward to them and trying to follow your advice. Thanks for putting in all this work @fisteganos. You exemplify the helpfulness of this community and what makes it so awesome.

Wow! I never knew anyone was actually "looking forward to my posts". It's so nice of you to say.

I just hope I've been able to explain the various concepts properly and adequately. Never really been good at teaching.

I intend to go through my posts and compare to see if my views are going up in relation to reading your posts. Just have to go through the blockchain and figure out when I began following you. I went through about 6 or 7 pages and had to stop because the electricity went out while I was doing it!

Haha! Really?

You're on rep 59 so I can see you're doing pretty fine. I'm not sure that's entirely due to you following my posts lol.

I'll love to know what you find tho but after going through 7 pages? That's a lot of work 😂

Yes, there were about 2 hours yesterday in my life where if it could go wrong it probably happened. Lol.

Thank you. We needed this.

Super helpful,thanks. Following.

very interesting, thanks for posting - Subbed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66504.03
ETH 3578.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.03