Share the tips and save money: Buying paints

in #tip6 years ago

In past, I have written some articles about how to be more efficient. It led me to the idea of shearing also some tips about how to save money and get the same result. Most of the tips I know are working only in Finland but probably you can use some of them in other countries too. I think that if you know some valuable tips to save money, you should share them with people around you.

Save money.PNG

Picture

I guess it’s one of my hobbies to find more efficient ways to do things, mostly better ways. Some of those ways might be considered as a greyish area but they are not illegal, it’s just gaming the system. Usually, I share these things only to the closest people but honestly I think that when holding back the information is not bringing any high value to you, you can tell the ideas to other people and achieve the higher impact. There lies a great chance that you’ll get more new ideas in a good conversation and when other people start to share they ideas in return.

So, this is the first tip. When you are planning to start a renovation, and need to paint something, don’t buy any paints in Finnish stores unless it’s at heavy discount. You should buy all your paints in countries where the price level is lower. Internet is the right tool to do that, you just have to find the right company and fill up the order trough the web-page and wait for a couple of days of shipping time.

This is a one real example of how I’m buying my paints. Recently I ordered Tikkurila paints from Latvia and the company was Kräsu Serviss. I bought Remontti-Ässä 9l, Tikkurila Harmony 9l and Tikkurila Unica Kalustemaali 2,7l and the total price with the shipping cost was 178,72€. Same paints in Tampere Bauhaus cost totally 263,80€. With this arrangement, you can save 85€ which is 32,2% cheaper than normally. Of course, this order was relatively small but when your order is larger you can save more money and get the same product.

-markos86

Sort:  

What amount of cost were shipping costs?🤔

Shipping cost was 31,46€

Does the shipping cost correlate with the order weight?

I can not say for sure. Probably some correlation, but not very big.

Ok, so its better only do big orders

That is some expensive paint you got there over in Finnland. Here is my tip for every day: if you buy milk in boxes, always cut it open once it seems empty because there always is some more milk inside. Let that little sip add up over lifetime and you have some €€. Plus you don't throw away good food that is hidden in a box.

Finland is expensive :/

It is still suprising that the price difference is so huge with the same product

It's quite a rough price differentiation (I think it's called that in english). In finnish it's hintadifferointi.
Nothing wrong with that policy but it certainly feels a bit unfair.

True that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64196.23
ETH 2757.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71