You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: That's What She Said: The Use of Dialogue Tags

in #tinyteaches6 years ago

Dialogue tags and I have a difficult relationship. Avoiding them in the manner you describe can break pacing. Yet, that endless stream of boring tags otherwise distracts. Avoiding tags and descriptions altogether in two-person dialogue assumes the reader doesn't get lost. I know I do.

It's all frustrating.

I avoid dialogue except when needed. I prefer to attempt to describe the essence of a dialogue, rather than to state it. Then again, there's the "show don't tell" rule, which this tactic threatens to violate. This usually means I mix the two. There's some talking, then a description of why characaters take the positions they do, and then do some dialogue of the resolution.

With dialogue, often less is more.

Thanks for this post. I am clearly not alone in my suffering.

Sort:  

Exactly. Although I'd like to add, that less is more most often, not only with dialogue.

Could write several more paragraphs to show how much I agree... but, well. Less is more.

Well... Less is more is pretty much my motto. But we have to be careful to not allow dialogues to take place in a dark void. When we talk, there is so much more communicated than just words... Non-verbal communication is a big part of every exchange. That might be lost if we stick too closely to the less is more rule.

Beats and action can bog down a piece of dialogue, that's true. But they don't have to. It's all about getting the dosage just right.

It's a matter of practice. But I see you've found us at The Writers' Block. You'll find plenty of help there. ;-) Welcome to the family.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63570.02
ETH 3400.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56