You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tiny House Episode 12: Finishing the Interior with Pine

in #tinyhouse6 years ago

Very nice! I am doing the same in our home i love the look. Very interesting cedar on the ceiling i may try this somewhere. Are you leaving it natural or staining it?

Sort:  

We finished it with clear water-modified polyurethane thinking it would be easy to wipe clean but a natural oil finish may be a better option.

That sounds like it's going to be beautiful. I have the same tongue and groove that I'm installing in our home now. I'm going down that same path with clear polyurethane. I have found you can get different wood tone effects with different clear poly's. I have tried the oil emulsified water based clear poly and it creates a golden glow. The latest that I really like is the clear water based from Varathane. It retains the lighter look of the wood. One more trick I tried was that on the doors that I built; I put one coat of teak oil; let it sit for 2 weeks; lightly sanded it. Then I put clear water based oil emulsified over it for the front door. This was a T&G Doug Fir hand crafted door. It gave it a really golden look. Have fun experimenting; it's a fun adventure.

Thanks for the encouragement! Not sure how you stumbled on this post but we actually finished the house quite a while ago. It looked really good with the plain polyurethane on it but we had some cracking in the winter due to the very dry winter air. I wonder if oiling the wood would help to prevent this?

Not sure, but i think the lighter look is beautiful. I have beams that check and crack and i kind of like that look. I even took a draw knife to spots on the beam's and then torched these areas, sanded a little then i coated them in polyurethane. I let the wife set the beams on fire, it made her day. When i tell people we need to set our beams on fire they kind of look at me funny :)

Sounds like it would look really nice with the added detailing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68008.50
ETH 3261.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66