Anarchy comes in Tiny packages.

in #tinyhouse8 years ago


 I believe in the ultimate sovereignty of individuals. I have never been good at the status quo. I hate the phrase, “it is, what it is”.  I am much more interested in the hidden value and unmet potential of people and things. I love discovery and innovation. I am at my best when I am thinking “beyond the box” and living “off the grid”.

    
 As a long time resident of Portland Oregon, The Tiny House movement seems like a no-brainier. I can live rent and mortgage free in a dwelling that is designed and build especially for me for under $40k? Sign me up.  

 

 Nothing is better than finding a new passion. I began sketching out architectural designs on scraps of paper and put them all together with SketchUp. I have been lucky enough to tour other Tiny Houses, built locally. I have spent countless hours reading and watching the U-tubes; fueled by the hope of first time home ownership and freedom from utility costs and rent payments. What would I do with all that new found disposable income and extra free time?

 The average American works approximately two out of every five days just to pay housing costs.  We spend around 5.5 waking hours a day in our homes per day. The average size of a house in the USA is 2600 square feet. That said, I am not looking for less for the sake of austerity. I am looking for the correct human scale dwelling, to fit me and my needs. Nothing more nothing less.

   
 

As I dug deeper into the nuts and bolts of actually building my own dwelling, I came across a few warnings  about local zoning problems and HUD proposed regulatory changes (FR-5877-P-01) in the works, that might lead to evictions due to building code violations. No more Tiny House Dreams?


 Then, It all started to make sense to me. If too many people exit the current housing system (that generates massive revenue for the established powers that be) too fast; we might just see a real challenge to the established oligarchy in our lifetimes.  That is a dream worth fighting for.

   

 As a Steemer I am opposed to censorship.  As a Tiny House dreamer, I am opposed to unfair regulatory changes which stifle innovative housing solutions. Steem on! 

Sort:  

Cool post. Personally I was raised in a big farm house and like my space, so I probably wouldn't like a tiny house that much, but I fully support what you're saying and you're reasons for wanting one :)

I am a big guy and I am also a bit claustrophobic so the design is a big thing for me. I definitely like having the option to park the Tiny on the big open land around a farm; at least when the weather is good, or to visit family. <3

Congratulations @polarbard! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57742.49
ETH 3102.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39