Tiny House Episode 22: Mega Update Part 2

in #tinyhouse6 years ago (edited)


This video is the second installment in the Mega Update series. I catch things up on a few more projects I was behind on documenting.

The first item I cover is how to use the alternating stairs; you might remember from the alternating stairs post that the top step appears to be missing. This design is intentional because it allows the user to transition from their feet to their knees when they enter the loft which has a very low ceiling.

The missing step also works on the descent, which I demonstrate. You can either go from your knees to the first step or from a sitting position to standing on the first step. When the video was shot, I hadn't really used the stairs much yet and I didn't have a preferred method. After living in the tiny house for almost two years, I definitely prefer using the seated-to-standing method.

seatedHere I am demonstrating the seated-to-standing method of using the stairs.

The next thing I get into is the Hobbit Stove. The Hobbit Stove is a small wood burning stove that puts out about 20,000 btu's which, as we have experienced, is more than enough for the 200 sqft. we are living in. We ordered it from Salamander Stoves which is located in the UK. At the time we were researching mini stoves for the tiny house there weren't many options available. There were a few other contenders but, in the end, with the hobbit stoves flat cooktop and good reviews we were sold.

sizeRight: A size comparison of the Hobbit and a conventional sized wood stove. Left: The Hobbit in action!

Since we ordered and installed our Hobbit Stove, a few other brands of mini stoves have entered the market. One, off the top of my head, is Cubic Mini Wood Stoves which is located here in Canada. They have a much better price point, especially when you factor in shipping, but I don't think they are certified for in-home use. They are also lighter than the Hobbit Stove which can be an advantage or disadvantage depending on your needs.

deliverThe just delivered hobbit stove sitting on the back of the old Dodge. Note the fragile label on the tape.

We received the Hobbit Stove by courier in a small crate and I brought it inside our rental house to unpack. The stove was attached to a small pallet by four bolts. I quickly realized that Canada Customs couldn't figure out that the stove was bolted down because they bent the bolts in their attempt to pry it off the pallet. These bolts were meant to be reused to bolt the hobbit stove down to where ever you planned to mount the stove. I ended up having to buy new bolts for this purpose. Thanks Canada Customs...

crateYou can see where Canada Customs pried on the sides of the crate; they even removed one of the legs completely!

After reviewing the stove and accompanying items, I reveal everything we were able to put under the raised floor in the middle of the house!

underWhat did I hide under the stairs?

Thanks for reading/watching! Make sure to stay tuned for our next video where I do the first trial run of the Hobbit Stove after it was installed. As always, comments are welcome and I would be glad to answer any questions you have about tiny houses. Any support you wish to give is much appreciated.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

We’ve considered the cubic mini stoves as well but I’d like to hear more about the Hobbit! UK to Canada sounds like $$ 😬 Definately need a mini for tiny spaces!

There is definitely going to be more on the hobbit stove. The shipping was a few hundred dollars I think. The Hobbit is a nicer stove then the cubic mini and is rated for in home use. It is also a lot heavier. I think it is about 90 lbs vs the Grizzly (Cubic Mini) which is I think 35 lbs.

That stove top will be good to pop some popcorn. Just put some kernels in a pot, put on a lid and let the heat from the stove do the rest. Add some coconut oil and a bit of salt.

That sounds tasty!

What do you estimate the final cost will be of your tiny home? Do you own the land that its on?

We think it is around 30k CAD. Right now it is parked on my parents land but we bought our own property and will be moving in the summer probably.

Loving the tiny house - Always liked little heaters/stoves to make a home homely, i.e. the Hobbit stove rocks!

Thanks, it is a cozy addition to the house for sure!

Excellent working

This tiny home has more features than a full sized house and I believe it is better constructed too! Kudos to you for an excellent job!

Thanks! It was a lot of work too! I wanted to make sure we were comfortable though. Especially Aimee. You know what they say, "Happy Wife, Happy Life!"

Sweet! @freedomtowrite was talking to me about this sweet stove. I think we need one in our lives. An amazing stove and a LOTR wink...sign me up 🙃

There will be more on the stove so stay tuned!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56