Benefits of living in a tiny home

in #tinyhome6 years ago (edited)

Sitting here in our little apt while Kai is busy running back and forth chasing his ball that's bouncing off all the surfaces of our home has me thinking about all the benefits of living in small spaces.

IMG_8584.JPG

Actually this has been on my mind a lot recently as it's been a topic that's been brought up quite a bit in some of my mom groups. I'm sure most of you know that there is a semi new tiny home movement that's been making it's way around the block. It's all good and easy as a single person or even as a couple but how on earth do you live in a tiny home as a family!?

IMG_8552.PNG

Well fear not! I am here to share what I have learned along the way and of course answer any other questions you all may have in the comments below. So let's begin...

1 You will save money! Smaller space equals smaller expenses! Score!

2 Another quite obvious one but possibly very overlooked, you will save a ton of time on cleaning! Granted you have to clean more frequently as a small mess in a small space can quickly take over but at the end of the week I'm sure the amount of time spent cleaning will be significantly less! And if you are anything like me where my time is incredibly limited and precious then this is an enormous win!

IMG_8582.PNG

What mess mom!?

3 Another benefit that sorta fits under both money saving and cleaning is minimalism.... to live in a small space you have to become a bit of a minimalist or else you won't have space to store all your things AND move around! Lol. And minimalism saves you more money because you can't just keep buying stuff just to buy stuff because like I said you don't have the space to store all these things!

4 As challenging as it might seem at the beginning living in a small space actually unites people. It promotes creativity, problem solving and conflict resolution as of course there are multiple people trying to accomplish various tasks at the same time in the same space. Working together is a necessity to make things flow smoothly leaving this as not only my last but my most challenging and my favorite benefit of small space living!

Sort:  

Yes, it is true,less space takes less time and expenses, but when family grows, you got to move to bigger house

Maybe. But I think living with a family in a small space brings people together and shows the importance of working as a team. It also puts an extra importance on outdoor time which I think a lot of people don't think about. But connecting with nature is so important in my opinion.

That's true, connecting with nature is important. I am against big houses with many rooms which never get used

Small space living requires CONSCIOUSNESS and RESPECT for yourself, others and even for yourself in another time-space (ie don't leave that mess where my future self will trip over it!). Nice post and love the way you are able to see the upside. Whatever the size of your space, may it always be filled with love & awareness. :)

Yessss! That's exactly right! Maybe in the future I won't enjoy it as much but fir now I really love that we all live in a small space and have to coordinate our activities with each other. It's nice and cozy 😍

5 - We get to go outside and play everyday! That's always a plus right LOL 😝

Definitely a plus! AND I get to see both of your bright shining faces all day every day! Eeeeeek!

Great that it has increased your closeness and unity.

I think you are right. I live in a small apt too and I can connect with the benefits. But sometimes it seem a choking especially when you have guest(s).

We have dinner parties and it's lovely though I couldn't imagine having anyone stay over. There simply isn't enough room! That would be nice to have a space where a guest could stay but at the same time I doubt it would get used much. 🤷‍♀️

Amazing! My Brother and sister in law a have just completed theirs in NZ it looks amazing. I would love to but unfortunately the Regime in England make it very hard to live in one. But I am working on it 💯🐒

That's awesome! I love hearing that! 😍

Yer can't wait to get out and see it for real soon 💯🐒

Totally agree! I would love to have a bigger home but living in a small apartment do have it's benefits. We live in a small apartment too and it sure is cheap =)

Thanx for stopping by to share your thoughts! ❤️

let me know if you still feel the same way in a small space with a 4 year old.

We shall see in a couple years 😬

There is absolutely nothing wrong with minimalizing! Get a bit more humble, think a bit different.

Absolutely no reason so see this as a bad thing

I think minimalism is great! I definitely agree with being more humble and taking more care of the things you do have. Minimalism has really changed the way I think about a lot of things! ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61726.60
ETH 3041.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86