Sort:  

Thats a really cool project that you done for yourself. My town has a community of ATV riders and we usually build impressive warm up shacks and cooking shacks for everyone to enjoy but there is always some people that ruin them and smash out windows or burn them down. I brought out 2 fire extinguishers and within the few days they were emptied by some vigilante that wanted to draw penises on the ground. He placed them back on the hooks we had made for them.

Im glad nobody got into a issue and didnt actually need to use the fire extinguisher and it had been empty.

Thanks, lifewithdanny,

That's too bad about the vandals. I haven't had any trouble yet. I hope I don't. I see graffiti in some of my favorite places off the beaten path.

I read an article on how to erase graffiti somewhere. I think that could be cool to erase that visual noise.

Yeah there is some good articles on how to remove graffiti on different surfaces. Me and a friend were actually going to start a business to do that. We never went through with it.

Years ago a drunk painter was driving home from a job. I wonder what his job looked like? Anyways, he crashed his van, full of paint in the rear, into a tree on my parent's lawn.

Paint was all over the tree, and dripped down the road in an easy to follow line. The Police tracked the paint all the way to his house several miles away.

The point of my story is that my Dad used paint he already had, to camo (hide) the paint on the tree. It was brilliant! You really could not tell it had ever happened.

That is inspirational to me. Maybe I could use the same technique.

hahhahah that is amazing what your dad did! He must be a pretty smart man!

Yeah, he was really bright. He never studied. I never saw him read a book, but he built our home all by himself. He even made the septic tank. Did all the plumbing, and wiring. I don't know where he got it. Born with it, I suppose.

Well it seems you picked up a little bit from him! Look at what you built!

Very true my friend. I managed to do this all by myself. However, I did get lots of help from Youtube University.

WOW!!! Solid build @binaryflat ! I like the add on patio and shed style roof. I can tell you built with precision and meticulous attention to details.

Resteemed!!!

I just finished a horse shed at my homestead, and as I was completing the structure I'm thinking...Man, I could live in that!!! Spoiled horses LOL
20180201_173123.jpg

Thinking about framing up a 2nd one by my pond with floor joist and dry-in construction...off grid of course

Hey Buddy, I just saw your comments. Thank you! It looks like I have found another fellow OffGridder. I will check out your blog right now.

Yes Sir! Looking forward to checking out your future builds, and any additional projects on your off grid cabin build. Are you planning solar or off grid water? That would be cool to see if you are...

I have lots of plans. I am starting a deck on the side of the cabin where the sliding door is. It will go the width of cabin and join the deck along the side, in front. That should make a good outdoor space to hang out on, and maybe grill some mushrooms. I plan on starting an outside screened-in dining room with a kitchen area. I really don't have clear plans. I usually make it up as I go along. It usually turns out ok.

I plan on using the sun to heat my water for shower...we'll see. At this point this is all ideas, and experiments.

I have a small solar panel (40 watts) and a couple of 35 Ah batteries. This is enough for now. I am able to run LED lights, and charge my electronics, but I will probably go up to 100 watts, or maybe 200, in the future.

I need a barn too like yours. I have an area planned for a small garden. It has been warming up here. Spring is around the corner. I have got to get started.

I have a rain barrel now, but I want to hook up a larger tank. It is amazing how much water comes off a small roof. I also have a spring that runs boldly year round. It is good to have spring water to drink.

What about you...What's on your agenda?

Hey man that cabin is gonna be awesome once you finish those plans...looking forward to seeing the progression! You'll have to Post on the deck build, along with the solar and off grid water setup. You're are very fortunate to have a clear spring for drinking water on your property. Here not so much. Have a creek, but the water in it is from runoff from the cattle pastures. I guess in SHTF it could be run through a Berkey and boiled.
My off grid is water is a 3/4 acre pond...way low now do to drought...we need rain desperately here in TX.
Your cabin build is an inspiration...keep up the great work!

I'm starting a cabin too...got the foundation poured, and cabin on site...it was a pre-fab, so it saved a ton of time. I'll do finish out, windows, solar, water, rain catchment, etc20171201_105836.jpg

Dang Texas! You're making me feel like a slacker. You're the bomb!

Oh yeah, are you into prepping? If so, how serious are you about it?

I have only recently started putting a few things back. Water, seeds, and some canned foods.

You know the shelves go bare after the 3 proverbial days, of trucks not pulling into Walmart.

Slacker?!?!? Dude, you built a cabin from the ground up...dang man...I gotta keep up with YOU!!! Yeah I keep some stuff socked away for a raining day, grid down, SHTF, TEOTWAWKI ...take your pick. But long term I'm trying to get to a sustainable homestead producing as much output (food), as input ...not easy, but doable!!! Never just wanna depend on walmart or the trucks lol

That is a really nice looking barn. I would like to have one like that on my property. Can I copy it? Did you burn that wood with a torch to get that color, or is that stain of some kind?

Thanks for the comments @binaryflat !!! Yes, absolutely copy....matter of fact, I'll do a complete build "Post" from ground up in a few days. I documented everything with pictures, not realizing that a few weeks later I'd be joining Steemit!

The finish is Shou Sugi Ban...wood burning with torch for preservation...Man i'm 100% sold on that method and doesn't introduce foreign chemicals into the homestead soil like stains, etc

Gotta post on that upcoming too...setup..safety gear...application..the whole nine yards...

Thank you, that'd be great! You have done really well on here in a short period of time. Are you enjoying the experience?

It's actually been an awesome experience! The learning curve is steep, but it becomes 2nd nature after awhile. Your off grid cabin and future posts would do great is tags like #homesteading #homestead #homesteadersonline to name a few...keep up the good fight my friend!

Nice little place.how big is it? 🐓🐓

Hi Mother. It is 8x8, right now. I will be expanding in the future. A chicken in a library said: Book! Book!

Very cool place. Looking forward to seeing the expanded version. Hang in there, Steemit can be kind of frustrating in the beginning. So I hope to see more of your work. 🐓🐓

Thank you! I hope to be posting more of my cabin build soon. I plan on adding to the deck, and to start building a screened in dining/cooking area. It is amazing how much there is to do, even on such a small scale. I just had a look at your chickens... They are beautiful!

Thank you so much. We get a kick out of the silly chickens. 🐓🐓

Hi! I've been researching small off-grid cabins for years now, and this build has really stuck with me. I'm curious how you managed to add extensions to the roof sides (one person job?) and how the build is holding up a few years later. Thanks for the inspiration!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60993.82
ETH 3387.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49