Tin mackerel " Dutty Gal"

in #tin7 years ago

In Jamaica Tin mackerel is a speciality , a item that we use when we say we aguh run a boat,meaning we going to cook something most time this is said when money is not enough , so it's either Dutty gal (Tin Mackerel )and rice or Boil dumplings or chicken back and rice , hmm mm just thinking of it my my mouth watery , I love Tin mackerel it is my easy go to dish when I am tired I just cut up my onions ,tyme,escellion, tomatio, garlic a lot of it and let it cook a little in a frying pan just for a few seconds ,because I like my mackerel cooked note the mackerel come cooked in the tin some persons open the tin and eat it with bread or crackers , then I add my mackerel in on low heat and let it shimmer for a few minutes then I put in some ketchup and about a teaspoon of vinegar and about a teaspoon of sugar and let it shimmer
until the sauce is thick ,I pair this with rice or dumplings and bananas and Yan and Irish potato .it's delicious , tin mackerel can be use in other dish like mackerel run down , curry mackerel,mackerel season rice ,mackerel balls all and more even mackerel salad . But I mostly do the good old fashion tin mackerel. Delicious! image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60097.61
ETH 3373.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51