The Red Cat and The Coral. (Illustration process)

in #timmolloy6 years ago

Finally finished (I suppose) this one! I thought I'd post a bit of a process blog about it, so here goes!
I created this image using my Cintiq Companion and Manga Studio 5.

00.jpg

Everything always starts with a simple sketch, something very rough that usually serves as a reminder to me of the idea. In this case, a bath toy belonging to my son sparked the initial concept. I quite often 'see' the image in my mind, but of course it takes a long time to recreate and improve upon something so ephemeral, so you have to start somewhere!

01.jpg

The next step is to refine the initial concept. At this stage I am usually more concerned with composition that anything, although it's also at this point that I begin consulting reference material (if needed). In this case, the bath toy and many photos of coral. Often, I draw straight off the top of my head, but not always.

02.jpg

The next thing I did was tighten up the 'pencils' for the coral. I really wanted the reef to be more than just background, and right there at the forefront so it was important to spend the time getting this right!
For each one of these steps I will create another layer and make the underlying layers less visible. I use different colours for these stacked layers in order to make sense of what invariably becomes a complex mess!

03.jpg

Inking begins, I finalised the Cat and the Whale and then dove right into the coral linework. This took many, many long nights in the studio!

04.jpg

05.jpg

06a.jpg

06b.jpg

The finished linework. At this point, I will have created multiple layers of linework, so it's usually here that I will collapse them all into one layer.

06.jpg

Now we come to a rather mindless part of the process, laying in flat colours. I tend to make different layers for different elements and be pretty random at this point. As long as you have a certain amount of separation, it is easy to adjust different hues to achieve a balance.

07.jpg

Once the flat colours are in, I'll mess around with opacity and different hues until it looks kinda right, then I'll begin laying in highlights and shadow. I use various wet media tools within the software and different opacity and multiply layers to achieve a bit more depth.

08.jpg

09.jpg

012a.jpg

012b.jpg

012c.jpg

This step is pretty mindless and tedious, so I often work in front of Movies, TV shows or podcasts... or even just hanging out with my wife and chatting over a glass of wine. The Cintiq Companion works just as well in my studio as it does in my lap or in bed, watching a movie on the projector!

Once all these elements are in place, it's as much a matter of trial and error to get it looking right. Constant reevaluation of every little part of the composition and trying different layers of texture and colour to bind it all together into the final image...

012.jpg

00.jpg

And that's pretty much it! I hope you enjoyed a little basic insight into my process. This piece was probably the most detailed thing I've created, although I'm no stranger to it. If you liked, please upvote, resteem or follow!
Thanks for looking!

Sort:  

Wow what an amazing post and artwork Tim! Love all the colors and details just too awesome.

Upvoted and resteemed!

I was wondering which Wacom Companion version you're using? I got a Cintiq 13HD but is wired and hope to get a wireless in the future so I'm not stuck to a desk. Also wondering if it works with big Photoshop files?

Hi timmolloy,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Wow, I'm almost speachless. So much work but it looks so awesome! 😲

I wonder if it's worth it sometimes. Thanks for digging!

I think it's a matter of payment 😉 but also a matter of personal style! I think the details are part of your style so you should try to stick with it 😊

Great work, Tim. Thank you for sharing the process. And what happened to a flock of fish in the background? I think she should be there. But I can be wrong :)

Yah I tried putting them in but something about them irritated me. Thanks for the feedback!

Sooo beautiful <3

I love the detail level, and the cat/whale idea is awesome. Great job.

Hello, I congratulate you for your drawing is spectacular, thank you for sharing your post.

This is awesome! Thanks for sharing your process.

My pleasure!

Already following you! It is very beautiful your drawing, and I like to see the process, because you show us what's above the "Iceberg". Definitely drawing is not an easy thing to do, but you make it look easy:) congrats!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83