Are We Wasting Time?

in #time6 years ago

I had a chat with my friend @jeline over the weekend. We were talking about Sola, a decentralized social media platform that allow users to monetise their contents just like Steemit.
2980690_M.jpg
In the course of our discussion, she asked an important question, which I considered answering in a different perspective.
She asked.....

I hope I'm not wasting time on Sola?

I replied...

Of course, you're wasting time

Obviously, my reply came like a surprise to her as she popped up the next question...

Jeline: Then why are we doing it?
Me: Because life is full of time wastage....

Truth is, we are all wasting time doing one thing or the other, hoping that in the long end it will turn out productive, and worth the wasted time.
3033109_M.png
This is a new week and today is monday, we're going to waste time again rushing to work, burning atleast 6-10hours everyday at workplace hoping to get paid at the end of the month.
3071110_S.jpg
We waste time going to school, reading and studying, hoping to get a good job on graduating.

Preachers waste time, preaching to people about the gospel of Christ hoping that a soul might get converted.

We waste time dating somone, feeling all the love, magic and excitement, hoping we'll end up getting married to them only to realize later that they weren't meant for us and other times we end up with them.
761653_M.jpg
We waste time on Steemit writing, video blogging, churning out contents hoping it will get the attention of curators as well as get rewarded.

We waste time in real life talking to people about Steemit, burning our calories and ATP, hoping that they'll change their mind and join, knowing that Steemit is not a ponzi.

We waste time campaigning and canvasing support for a particular presidential candidate, hoping that he would bring about the desired change.
1782427_S.jpg
Parents waste time training and raising their children, hoping that they would take care of them at old age.
696959_M.jpg
We waste time on the internet, researching about cryptocurrency and even risk money investing without being 100% sure of making profit.

We waste time filling airdrops, hoping that the coins will have value someday and other times you don't even get to receive the tokens.

So, yes, we're wasting time. But we're wasting time with purpose. We're wasting time doing one thing or the other with the perceived assurance that it will pay off someday directly or indirectly.

However, many people are wasting time on what will never pay off or add any significant value to their life. Some are even wasting time on what would destroy their life in the long run.

When we believe that some things are worth wasting time on, it will be easier to take risks and work harder on things that will change the course of our lives tomorrow, and that of our generation.

*So the question is....

What are you wasting time on?

Is it worth it?

Are you wasting time trying to find happiness in others?

When the true form of happiness is actually intrinsic.

"Waste time", but waste it reasonable!
Meanwhile, if you don't know about Sola and wishes to join, click HERE to download the app and register.

Disclaimer: All pictures used in this post are Creative Commons extracted from Pixabay.

Thank you for your time. Do have a beautiful week
Sort:  

What a content. I never thought about it this way but the outcome of the "supposed time wasted" really does count in the long run. Well-done @joahuaetim.

I've been wasting time drinking Kunu geda lately, thank you for your kind words

very well written, gets my wheels turning while i waste time lol 👏👏👏

Even when you're on the wheels of steel, the time is worth wasting man, well done. Thanks for stopping by

your absolutely right. ✌

Interesting perspective! Believe you are right, and also that what is a total waste of time for one person can be time well spent for somebody else. Right now I am wasting time on some courses om Coursera. Doubt that I will ever benefit in my job from egyptology but absolutely don't see it as a waste of time!

I agree with you on this...

what is a total waste of time for one person can be time well spent for somebody else.

Currently, I'm "wasting time" running a masters program in Public Health Biotechnology but I know that it will pay off in the end both directly and indirectly.

You'll definitely benefit from Egyptology, the course sounds quite promising.
Thank you for your wonderful remark @lynxki

Well written dear....
I love the advice that comes with this writeup.
Me, I'm wasting my time on you 😉😉😉

Hahaha, laughing to tears...

Me, I'm wasting my time on you 😉😉😉

I guess I'm worth wasting time on, I would waste time on you again and again. Thank you for inspiring this post

Hahahaha... ROTFL

My pleasure dear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63173.85
ETH 3147.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87