Time Management III, Contributed By @olawalium.

in #time6 years ago

pexels-photo-404972.jpeg
[Source]

...continued...* from part 1 and part 2


I did a ”Let’s Get To Know Each Other Challenge” by @blog-fictions yesterday on my blog. It is about you answering 10 questions which was given and out of these 10 questions, 1 of them gave me a moment of reflection to know that time cannot be redeemed, we can only try to do better than we once did, by managing our time and resources well. The question was ”Tell me about something you really regret” and my answer was about a time I had close to a million Naira (Nigerian currency) and I didn’t invest larger percentage of it. I was naïve. I knew nothing about life. I had no one to give me a guideline. It was a time I wish I could get back so I can do it differently, but sadly I can’t and no one can. I can only try never to make the same mistake twice and also manage my time and resources well now. (You can check out my page to participate in it if you wish too. You will enjoy the thought provoking questions and the funny ones too).

I got to know that time is an event which you should do well not to miss, a happening which you need to keep up with so as not to be left behind, and also a seed that once you fail to engage it, you won’t be able to retrieve it again. It passes by. Oh yes, time is also a resource and it can only be a resource when you engage it. If you don’t engage it, it becomes a wasted one.


pexels-photo-269610.jpeg
[Source]

Be clear on your goals or purpose as I have explained the other time. It saves time and give us effective management of time. We live in an interesting time where we have so much to do, but little time to do them. So, what do we do then?


1. PRIORITIZE WHAT TO DO.

In economics, there is what we call Scale of preference, which means we list our wants, desires, goals, etc. in order of priority. Prioritize what you need to do. Organize and rearrange your goals, purpose, objective, and so on. Do them periodically, do them from time to time, because as we go through life, our focus, desires and priorities change. I remembered when having a car used to be a goal. I remembered when having the best of wrist watches and all those frivolities used to be a target but if we look at it from a good angle, we would see that we need to scratch them off our list. Why? Because what I need would be a good source of income that would produce all of these. I don’t need everything, I only need one thing that would be a target which will easily and comfortably produce all my desires. Prioritizing it is.


pen-calendar-to-do-checklist.jpg
[Source]


Don’t get me wrong, I still desire that car, I still desire that house, I still desire marriage and all, but one thing is capable of producing them and that is the thing I need to seek and channel all my energy on. You don’t have time to do everything or let me say, you don’t have time for everything, but you have time for some things, so make time for the things that are important and knock off those things that are not.


...to be continued...


Thank you for your time.


My pen doesn’t bleed, it speaks, with speed and ease.

Still me,

My tongue is like the pen of a ready writer.

Olawalium; (Love’s chemical content, in human form). Take a dose today: doctor’s order.


If you enjoyed this post, follow @Olawalium

Sort:  

I am glad my post helped you remember something very important from your life and give out an important message to others...

It is with great delight and i hope many more can participate in it too. Such a great lesson and time is indeed irredeemable.

Thanks my friend.

Your welcome :)

😊🤗

Another good one. I remember scale of preference in Economics while i was in secondary school. We need to prioritize as you have rightly said. It will save us from wasting time and resources, even our energy. Once we channel our energy in the right direction, we achieve things faster rather than doing several things that are not necessary. There are necessary things that are important and there are somethings that appear urgent but not important. We need to differentiate them.

Brilliant. There are some things that appear urgent but not important. We need to prioritize to know what is really important so we won't waste time on unnecessary things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55117.74
ETH 2310.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31