A poem: Crooked (Who are you? Why did you change?)

in #tilphilippines7 years ago (edited)


CROOKED

"Nah man, too fat"
"Sooo boring"
"What a loser, such a nerd"
"Too skinny"
"Style up a little bit, will you?"
"Oh..that's a chest? Thought t'was a board"
"You don't drink? That's so oldies"
"Hit it, get high with us"
"Lay down sweetie, it won't hurt"
"C'mon, your parents won't know"


You fool! You listened, you followed.
You held dirt to be one of them.
To be accepted, to feel belonged, to be loved.
But that's a lie. You're not who this world tell you to be. 

You may be smiling but that smile cracks you deep within. 

Have you found yourself ? "yes"
Is that where you belong? "maybe?"
Who are you? " I don't know"
WHO ARE YOU NOW? "F**k! I don't really know!!"
Are you finally happy? "......stop it."
"Forgive me, I just tried to fit in" No.
"I messed up, I'm sorry" No. 
"Take me back, please? I am you. You are me. We are one." No.

I don't know you anymore. You killed the real you. You killed me. 

Now I am trapped. Even your own reflection doesn't like who you've become.

Now go, you poor, crooked girl. Stop looking at the mirror. 

You won't see me.I only exist in your memory now.




We all have this phase where we try to fit in with others. And in order for that to happen, we change according to their standards. We often forget who we really are. Until reality hits us  hard and knocks some senses within us. We think back on who we used to be and how much we've changed. Some turns to better, some turns into a monster. Let's not forget to look back on our real hearts while we pretend to be someone else. 

Be you. Be the real you :) 

Words and Photo by @queenie48 


Sort:  

This is so beautiful and very relatable. I like how you constructed it too

Thank you for appreciation :)
I am more on freestyle poem, than rhymes.

ang ganda ng message.

Salamat po :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62