JED MADELA WCOPA World Champion Singer and My Nephew

It is not every day you can say you have a famous relative. But I am one of the lucky ones. I have a lot of very talented nieces and nephews all over the world because our family has spread out. I also wrote about one nephew a singer too. But his genre is different and just loves to travel all over the world and performs with friends, not a concert or a planned one but usually spur of the moment kind.
This time I want to introduce my other nephew more well-known and maybe some other Filipino steemers might be familiar with his name and voice.
His real name is John Edward T. Tajanlangit, better known as Jed Madela. He changed it to Madela after his fraternal Grandmother’s maiden name but spelled easier to remember but pronounced the same. Being celebrity it helps if it is easy to pronounce your whole name. Makes it easier for people to remember.
15230752_1440906939283398_2364870407324657807_n.jpg
picture of Jed in Italy in 2016 used with his permission

His father and I are first cousins, his fraternal grandfather is my mother’s older brother. When he is in Manila or abroad, he is a celebrity but he is also family-oriented. He loves his parents especially his mom. He has 2 other siblings John Eric, married and a well know photographer here in Iloilo and a younger sister Joanne Christine a nurse, married and now in the USA working with her husband and daughter. He loves his niece and nephew and spoils them rotten.
He started out in a small band and moved to Manila after he finished college with a degree in Commerce. He applied to become a steward in a well-known international airlines because his father at that time did not want him to join showbiz or become a singer. He only wanted to be sure he got a good future. But while staying with his aunt, his dad’s youngest sibling he sang in a few gigs. His aunt saw his potential and supported it (but hid it from the dad). She allowed him to try for auditions. When his dad saw that Jed loved music and singing he allowed him. Jed has been singing in contests in elementary till college and has been winning. His younger sister is also a wonderful singer. ABS-CBN wanted his sister to try but the parents put their foot down. Only 1 celebrity in the family because they know of all the intrigues and gossips that goes around. They wanted to protect her and anyway she loves nursing more.
424519_3491602648729_1733369105_n.jpg
His immediate family - picture belongs to his Mom Agnes Tajanlangit with her permission.

Jed joined WCOPA in 2005, it like an Olympics of the arts. Dancing, modelling, singing, acting and instrumental. There are contestants from all over the world and about 75 judges. A talent Olympics and usually held in Long Beach, CA. That year there were only 2 contestants from the Philippines, another female a singer too. She got some gold and silver in other categories in singing. But the contestants from all over were few but still a lot. I think that it was still not that popular yet. About 40 countries join. That year I am proud to say that my nephew won as grand champion in the seniors division. It is not only one song but I think there was gospel singing, solo, duet and personal choice I think. . His winning piece was from Aerosmith “I don’t want to lose a Thing”. But they do have to go thru strict rules and judging. After choosing the winners of the senior category and the junior category, there is an over-all winner the grand champion of the world and the Philippines was the proud winner that year. My nephew Jed Madela. During that time he was using his real name Tajanlangit and the judges had a hard time pronouncing it so his aunt (also his manager) changed it to something easier to pronounce and spell yet still had an attachment to the family.
jed_madelaAA-horz.jpg

His winning piece:

In 2008 8 years after he won, he was awarded a lifetime merit award by the WCOPA. First Filipino to be in the Hall of Fame. A Hall of Fame Lifetime achievement award. Making the Philippines proud and making the world aware of the Philippine talents. He was also a guest singer that year.
WCOPA1.jpg

In 2009 he was requested by Ms Kris Aquino, a fellow celebrity and the daughter of the late Pres. Corazon Aquino to sing “Impossible Dream” during the burial which he did. Ms Kris Aquino is one fan of Jed and always would say he was one of her favorite singers.

Ever since that, Filipinos have been auditioning and joining the said contest. My cousin’s husband became the national director for the Philippines and also had been awarded the best director straight for a couple of years. Also the Philippines have won over all grand champions a couple of times. Not only in singing but dancing. They have had contestants in most categories, singing, dancing, modelling and instrumentals. It is becoming more popular and 40-50 countries are now joining sending a lot of delegates.
Right now auditions are going on for the 2018 WCOPA I am posting the audition dates and places for those who would be interested, if you have the talent go for it.
He is now connected with ABS-CBN, ASAP and guesting in other shows and judging.
WCOPA-Logo-Black-BG-JPEG-1022x1024-1-tile.jpg
21615985_10210835134934615_7094108875694271272_n-tile.jpg

Being in showbiz for 12+ years he has 10 CDs. I think because I always buy them and have him sign it and I only have 10. But I think they are planning another one. I always support him.
21297426_10155438282045280_1298397329_o-horz.jpg
picture is mine

He has been doing a lot of concerts all over the world. United States of America, Canada, Italy, Singapore, Guam, Malaysia, Australia, Milan, Rome, and practically all of the Asian countries. Just last month he had 3 concerts in the US and they were all sold out. He also had guest singers. Then recently he just had one in Papua New Guinea. He sings in a lot of occasions here like openings of affairs or dinners for ambassadors etc….
21151426_1832094733497948_7420075094532747639_n-horz.jpg

Last Feb 22, 2014 during the 39th International Bamboo Organ Festival he sang the then famous song FROZEN.

My favourite video he did was one of his first, “The Past”. It is simple and I love the words. One of his first hits.

About 4 days ago he posted this video about requests from fans to do a BTOB cover. I have no idea and do not understand but posting for those who do. I think it has to do with KPOP.

But even if he is a celebrity, he is still family-oriented. When he is with family he jokes and cooks for them. With us he is the son, brother, nephew, and cousin; fun loving and carefree. He is also a God fearing and loving person, always sings in the church choir when he is here. He never fails to go to my mom whenever we are together in family occasions and I make sure I take pictures for posterity.

DSC07746 (1024x768)-horz.jpg
DSC09442 (1024x768)-horz.jpg
Pictures are mine

He always tries to be home for the holidays, family birthdays, weddings and even Halloween. But if he cannot come home to Iloilo he sends them to Manila to celebrate with him in his house. And whenever he has a tour or concert in the US he always tries to visit his baby sister in Maryland. Especially his niece whom he misses so much.
10891874_10205491526267497_6755704974140802428_n-horz.jpg
Pictures are his Mom Agnes Tajanlangit used with her permission

Since it is almost Christmas I want to share one of my favorite Christmas songs from his album “The voice of Christmas”. There was one with just the lyrics and you can hear his voice only, but then I saw this one where he sang it live a few years ago. MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE!

As an Aunt I am proud of him. I love to share his achievements. How he has made the Philippines proud. Hope you like my post about him. You can find more of his songs on YouTube.

thank you.jpg

all pictures are used with permission
all videos from YouTube

Sort:  

He really is a good singer!!

yes and also very caring and good

I love Jed Madela. Wow! Talented genes!

haha missed me but thanks

Sabi kona nga bah taga iloilo so Jed. Mam malau ba kaubsa estansya ung new airport ?

sta Barbara di ba

The last time naka punta ako ng ilo ilo matagal na yun..nakasabay namin si Jed sa fast ferry.

oo santa barbara pala

Lahi pala kayo ng mga talented mam daisy.

hehe hind dumaan sa akin yung talent

I am a huge fan of him. I really loved his voice :)

thanks so much

Oh my! Jed madela is your nephew. I know him for he is a such a great singer! How lucky you are sis for having such wonderful nieces and nephews

I bet maam Daisy you must be also a very good singer seems that music is in your blood as I can see the potential in your nephew that maybe you have also maybe you can share your great talent to us also :)

hahah @ antonette nope I sang in choirs before but the talent went to my daughter skipped me. Heheh most of the talents from the grandparents went to the grandkids.

You have a very talented nephew, mam daisy! Such good talent!

too bad I don't have the same talent went t my daughter heheh

Good job on this blog!

You're welcome po!

Galing naman po. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.02
ETH 2553.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78