TIL Pablo Escobar's villa is now a paintball field. Also, I am a damn good person.

in #til8 years ago

Colombia amazing and very beautiful country, but… everyone is still associating it with Pablo Escobar. Guilty as charged, but I did as well, so I couldn’t miss a chance to visit one of Pablo’s old villas, which was bombed by Kali cartel back in early 90’s. I am not sure if Pablo would be happy to see a Gringo like me chilling by his pool as well, but well, times have changed in Colombia, and I could freely do it. Sorry, patron! They even let tourists play paintball here, but I did not feel like pushing all the limits that day.

This villa was managed by 2000 workers; Pablo brought plants from all over the world just to make it a little more fancier, but he only been there 3 times in his life… Anyway, now this villa is controlled by a family which worked to Pablo Escobar.

I had a chance to meet a lady who did gardening to him, and her husband, who was a private guard of Pablo… one of 300 hundred. And I was told that all 300 hundred were following him at the same time. One heck of an important person that Pablo was, huh?

The best part to me was that all of the people we met, who knew Pablo, said that he was a heartwarming person, and always was super nice to his workers.

Like a Robin freaking Hood.

So till this day, so many people in Colombia will tell you that Escobar has done some wrong to humanity, but he should not be judged as a bad person. “We all have some black and white” they told me. Yeah, that makes sense… It truly does.

I learned that I am happy that my black side is not bombing planes and massively selling drugs to people… not just yet.

Nonetheless, his villa by the lake in Guatape village is stunning! I tell you – the guy lived dangerously, but he had some beautiful properties. The things you can do selling cocaine, lol.


For more of my ideas, poems, observations, reviews, and thoughts, you can visit my lovely blog on Facebook!

Any follow, upvote, or(and) resteem is highly appreciated!

My job is to bring quality content to your feed. Your job is to interact (no one loves a nice discussion more than I do)!!!

Have a nice day,my fellow steemers! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61438.76
ETH 2384.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58