TIL - Not all changes to the Steem blockchain require a hardfork

in #til8 years ago (edited)

I come from a development background, but a lot of the inner workings of the blockchain are still fairly esoteric to me. I have never been involved in blockchain programming before Steemit came along, so it is all new to me.

I have learned a lot through my interactions with Steemit development activities and running a witness node, but there is still a lot for me to learn. Yesterday/today - I learned something new!

I have always thought of the Steem/Steemit code as two separate pieces:

  • The back-end Steem blockchain
  • The front-end Steemit.com GUI

The front-end is controlled by Steemit, Inc. and they follow their own release process for deploying changes. There is nothing really stopping them from deploying a change any time they want.

Changes to the back-end blockchain code are a little bit more complicated. Up until yesterday, I thought they all required a hardfork. It turns out though, not all changes do!

@arhag and @sneak helped to clarify this.

  • If the changes affect the consensus of the network (i.e. the rules that dictate account balances), then a hardfork is required in order for the changes to take effect.
  • If the changes do not affect the consensus of the network though, then individual nodes can pick up the changes and start using them - without requiring the network to hardfork.

Basically what this means is that there are a lot of 'simpler' changes that can be made to the Steem blockchain API, which can be adopted by Steemit.com and other Steem nodes - without everyone having to go through all the trouble of a hardfork!

Very cool :-)

Sort:  

Oh I didn't know about that too! Thanks for sharing!

This is a very technical information for me, but seeing his enthusiasm I interpret that this is a very good news, thank you very much sir @timcliff for sharing this information

Welcome. It was in the context of discussing the glitch where you can only use 4 tags instead of 5 in order for the post to show up when you are browsing the 'secondary' tags. I originally thought we would have to wait for the next hardfork for it to be fixed, but they are saying it can be fixed without a hardfork :)

Now I am clear, this topic I already heard, are good news thank you very much Mr. @timcliff

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $13.08 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 16 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40