Papa, what is the highest number?

in #til6 years ago

That is the question my 8 year old son asked me this morning and I told him that there is not a highest number as you can always add 1 to the last number.

He was not really satisfied with the answer and told me that the highest number is 100 Billion :-).

The question sparked my curiosity and after a short search I found that the highest number commonly accepted is called googol and is written 10^100.

There is also googolplex which is a 1 with googol zeros or 1^100^100 which is so big that there is not enough space in the universe to write down all zeros.

Did you know that Google was inspired by the word googol.

All the best!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I did not know that;
Does your son know that he can earn Steem when he asks a question ?

Haha ... kids are amazing :)

Wao! Such a brilliant kid that led you on research. You could arrive at some findings. Thanks for sharing your results @tarekdam

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

You explain very clearly. I just know it. That means the highest number is infinite like our universe. And the Google word comes from googol. Google means extensive coverage like the universe.

You got an awesome kid, but yeah there's so much in the kid's mind just like the googol thing...cheers!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. Yes I love his questions where I have to look and find answers.

Posted using Partiko Android

that was an interesting question hahaha always stay curious :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.02
ETH 2553.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78