TIL how valuable dating advices from my father are - Family out-takes #1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #til8 years ago (edited)

Dedicated to my closest adviser, best friend and funniest person on Earth: my father. 

Out-takes #1: Top 3 dating advices 

During the last months I was documenting several dialogs I had with my father. I just shared them with my inner circle which means: other family members and my best friends. But today I thought it might be a fun story for steemit. 

First of all you should know that I have a very good relationship with my father. He´s 65 years old but most of the time it seems like he´s not much older than me! We are on the same wave lenght and mainly do have exactly the same sense of humor: ironic, sometimes sarcastic and.... ruthless :-) 

Today I share my top 3 favourite quotes regarding: boys.  


No. 1 THE VEGETARIAN

Monday morning at the office (my dad and I work together), me reporting him on a date I had on the past weekend.
Marly: We had a really good time. He is a Vegetarian, but the rest was cool!
Dad: How could he be a cool guy if he doesn´t even know how to eat a good steak?


No. 2 SHOPPING A BOYFRIEND

Dad leaving the building in order to buy something at the grocery store.
Dad: Do you need anything from the supermarket, sweetie?
Marly: No thanks, dad. I think I am fine... Well wait. You could actually bring me a nice boyfriend.
Dad: OK. And how should that 'nice boyfriend' be?
Marly: Mmmmmh.... tall, sporty, self-confident, with one of these three-day beards you know and.... rich certainly!
Dad: So you mean an asshole.

No. 3 LONELY HEARTS AD 

Dad checking the latest sales revenues, being quite content.
Dad: The business is really running well, sweetie. I´ll need to hire one more person soon.
Marly: Good to hear that, daddy! Where do you think could we find the right profile?
Dad: I was thinking about publishing a lonely hearts ad in the local newspapers... promoting you. Like that we could kill two birds with one stone. 


PS: I still love my dad :-) To prove that I added the following picture... Picture: My dad and I after a surfing session, November 2015 


There´s nothing more appreciated than a naturally good working father-daughter-relationship. I am very grateful to have a father with whom I can talk like if he was my best friend. Supposedly there will be much more out-takes like these to come, that´s why I added a "#1" to the title. 

You´ll find more life lessions, self-mockery as well as surfing fun and a lot of poetry in my blog: @surfermarly. See you there! :-)


Cheers & live your dream,
Marly - 


Picture source movie clapper: http://media.istockphoto.com/

Sort:  

I was and still am a Daddy's girl too ...My father died 2002 but never forgotten

I am very sorry to hear that you lost him, @mammasitta. But you are so right: they won´t ever be forgotten. All these special moments we shared with them will live forever in our memories. Big hug for you <3

Dad: How could he be a cool guy if he doesn´t even know how to eat a good steak?

Thats a classic one! lol real men like steak rare!!!

Good read. It always seems that daughters completely adore that dads.
Sons not so much...
good luck finding the perfect rich guy that doesn't exist ;)

Thank you @generation.easy, your comment and vote are much appreciated!
Oh yeah I totally adore my father. That´s exactly the right word.
My description of that well-shaped boyfriend surely was ironic! But he would have to pass my father´s scan - that´s quite harder than being rich.... :-D

As the father of a daughter, I will just say that your dad is a very wise man. No 2 is by far the best... and most accurate. lol

Haha, thanks for your comment! I still laugh a lot thinking about no. 2, so it´s also my favourite :-)

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.95 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 23 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Awesome, thanks for having me!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83