The Red Side of Nutmeg

in #til8 years ago (edited)

In Aceh, nutmeg is one of the historic plant that has existed since the 16th century. Nutmeg not only traded here, because this fruit has become a commodity world. 70% nutmeg on exports through the past. However, at this time nutmeg are grown only in the south west coast of Aceh. From there, nutmeg is processed in various ways, in addition to be used as herbs and spices, fruit skins can even be utilized as sweets, syrups and serves as a herbal medicine.

I remember when I was a child, when my head or in my body collided with an object something, and make the bruises / wounds, my mother always sublimate the nutmeg into powder, mixed with a little water and put on the my wound / bruises.

Since the first I just saw a dried nutmeg with the only remaining seeds alone. Barely a few moments ago I saw this fruit as a whole with the skin and the fresh meat. It turns out there was the uniqueness of the fruit's skin, that is, the red side surrounding the seed shell. I just found out that there there is red side, it looks beautiful. I learned that fruit behind my friend's house, which is not overly ripe fruit, but the texture is beautiful and fresh.



The nutmeg rind which has been coated in sugar and dried under the sun, so that the sugar sticky on the side of. This is then referred to as "the nutmeg candied", one of the souvenir from South Aceh.



One bottle of nutmeg syrup currently remains at my home. This syrup if stored in the refrigerator can last for a long time. When the cold weather arrives, I always drink it. This syrup is made by relying nutmeg oil.


SteemVest17signd3bf0.png

Sort:  

Martapkubaratap :)

Bhahaahah... kutarada babpa

Alis kajikap le awaknjan jih....

betteeeepungo

Steem_Land Steemland.com tweeted @ 20 Nov 2016 - 17:20 UTC

The Red Side of Nutmeg — Steemit

steemit.com/til/@steemvest… / https://t.co/v9BnWHrl6z

@SteemUps @SteemitPosts @steemit @steemiobot

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

what an interesting post - never seen nutmeg like this
I bet that syrup taste nice
nice share :)

Thanks @ladypenelope1. Me too... I just know the red side there :)

Thank you for sharing your story on a familiar item in my pantry which I didn't know how it grows or is processed.

Your'e welcome @stephen-somers, nice for share here :)
Next time maybe, I'll post about growing and processing that nutmeg

Here, kids use nutmeg to get high.

wow, i just know that

Hi ya Steemvest17 that is a really interesting article thanks for creating it! I love learning about things like this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57645.95
ETH 2389.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43