TIL that it is illegal (usually) to merge onto a U.S highway from an exit lane after the dotted line has turned solid

in #til8 years ago (edited)

e

Recently, I was driving in the right lane on a freeway in a U.S. state when it suddenly became an “exit only” lane. Since I wished to continue driving and not to exit, I tried to merge into the lane to my left. There was traffic, so it took me a few extra seconds to change lanes.

By the time I merged, I had to cross a solid line between the lanes, since the exit was approaching.

f

Guess who saw me? Flashing lights. I had to pull over and give my license and registration to an officer of the law.

After confirming that my car wasn’t stolen and that I’m not a serial killer in the state’s computer records, the cop came back and suggested he might let me off easily. So I mentioned to him that I sometimes write for an online social media site called Steemit.

The policeman agreed that he would let me off with only a warning (no ticket) if I would write a post explaining that what I did was wrong.

So here it is, boys and girls: Thou shalt not cross a solid line to change lanes. I knew it wasn't the right move, but thought it wasn't a big deal to ignore the norm. Instead, I’ve learned my lesson.

"But Richard, aren't you a former lawyer? Can't you just...strut your stuff?"

That would be dumb, actually. Cops hate lawyers. They spend too much of their time fighting lawyers in dumb court cases. They know the law better than lawyers do. The best thing is not to pull any kind of rank. Just listen, be polite, and be respectful. Then promise to share their wisdom with a few thousand of your closest friends on Steemit!

http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/TN/htm/TN.545.htm

Pix: Pixabay.

Sort:  

Geez, you're lucky.

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $17.90 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 17 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Wow, they actually pull people over for that? I knew solid whites were almost always no-nos, but hadn't heard of it being enforced before.... except for passing on the right/shoulder. ;)

Really? I watch people do that almost daily. Never knew it wasn't legal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64867.61
ETH 3451.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55