Today I Learned You Can Extinguish Fire With Sound 🔊🔥steemCreated with Sketch.

in #til7 years ago (edited)

Two electrical computer engineers students Viet Tran and Seth Robertson devised a way to extinguish fire using sound. The device use low frequencies to create air pressure, thus blocking the fire from making new flames. The two engineers hold a preliminary patent application for their potentially revolutionizing device.


Sort:  

Cool that a couple of EC's developed this. Not sure what low frequency they are using, i do know back in the day my car audio system put out a candle inside my car. And to think, opportunity passed me by. Nice post

So all I really have to do is yell at my toaster and it won't burn the toast?
This is amazing!

Try and share the results.

The results are in. I had to yell down the street for help, the house is nearly engulfed. The yelling worked, but not how I had intended. (I joke.)

This is a very interesting invention. Makes me proud to be human.

It's all in the vibrations... have you also heard of the low bass booming in vehicles collapses lungs as well. Maybe why we don't here them much anymore.

That's pretty damn cool! (or hot, whatever)
As a concept, this has some massive applications. Imagine this inside an aircraft, or a bus or train.
Imagine these around petrol stations.
A big part of the damage caused by a house fire is actually caused by the water used to put it out. This could save a lot of people a lot of expense.
Good on these guys for doing this!

Yes, I agree with this person - water does cause extensive damage to home interiors, expensive rugs [think Oriental rugs, which can cost a fortune ] or furnishings. And the water can create quite a bad stink - who'd want to live with that, when you could use this handy invention?

Interesting, Actually some of the songs I hear on the Radio nowadays , could probably be used to induce a crowd to rush into the flames to get away from it! Secondary feature would be that they would stamp out the flames in their haste! Unfortunately, they won't allow me to patent this.

I also noticed that this fire extinguisher sounds better than most pop artist today.

Listened to it, you're right does sound better. Also, of course , they could just sell you a recording, house catches alight , put on the HiFi!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.93 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 23 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73