TIL that constellations are pretty cool!

in #til8 years ago (edited)

Everybody knows the big dipper, right?
(In case you've forgotten, It's the one that looks like a giant ladle)

img source

Well, today I found out that one of the stars which outline the big dipper isn't one star, but two!

img source

turns out that one can even make out the two stars with the named eye, and they were once used to test people's eyesight.

While we're on the subject, we can also mention Orion the hunter:

img source

A lesser known-part of Orion is his sword, which consists of three stars hanging down from his belt. Well, the middle star isn't even a star, but a nebula, which is believed to have been formed from a supernova, or the death of a star. Pictures of the Orion Nebula are pretty cool:

img source

Sort:  

That picture of the Nebula is awesome. Blows you mind to think about what is out there!

I know, right?
My profile picture is also a nebula, called the "eye nebula" (for obvious reasons...)

I love looking up at the stars. I'm still trying to find familiar constellations. I used to live in New York, but now living in Florida I scan the skies. Cassiopeia's Chair is my go-to constellation. I don't know why. LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60811.28
ETH 3369.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48