Today I learned: Why the buttons on a men's shirt are on the right.

in #til8 years ago

Well, well, well...look who's giving fashion advice now!

Let me stop your right here, this is a TIL not a fashion advice, buddy! It is to elucidate the mystery of men's shirt buttons. Like, did you ever put on a women's shirt and something felt...off? You tried to button and it was all wrong and weird and just bizzare. WHAT IS THIS WORLD?!, you freak out and yell..until, someone says, please be quiet this is a mall and you are in the women's section. Weirdo! huh...did anyone find this familiar...no? Ok. Let's try again.

Did you ever put on your boyfriend's shirt and tried to button it up and it felt off. Weird. Unnatural. Bizarre?! Did you curse and said" fuck this wrong placed buttons, grrrrr" ( but i'll make the effort for I look so cute in this..). Sounds familiar?!



Well, here's the reason why.
With about 98.2% certitude, the main reason for this is that women used to be dressed by servant while men tend to dress themselves ( historically speaking ). And so, it was easier to put men's buttons on the right side, because it's more comfortable to button them when they are on the right side...but easier to be on your left side if you are buttoned by someone else!

PHEW! Ok. That makes some sense...although now we all button up our respective shirts ourselves and we don't seem to get in too much trouble so maybe the whole thing was bogus from the start. Oh well.
For me, it has one major benefit: I tend to like some of the more slim women's shirts and blazers and confuse them for men's until I try to button them. (yeah i still buy them sometime because i don't discriminant, sue me! )

Next time, we'll try to decipher the mystery of why men take off their t-shirts differently than women.
Stay tuned.
Follow.
Upvote.
Comment.
Enjoy life.
Smile.
Be yourself.
Try something new.
Stop.
Breath.
Bye.

Sort:  

I had to find this out as well. Saw a cool shirt, bought it...buttons were all backwards and i had no idea why. Didnt matter though, I wore it like it was my only shirt. I really miss my shirt(blouse)....

What about US and European zippers being different? Man these are the deep secrets of the universe!

hmm in what way?! no idea about that!! we must uncover them

They zip opposite US male zippers do with the pull tab for the left hand!

If this is true my mind is blown. Brb, grabbing "female" overshirt real quick.

Wow. I need to find that one gif real quick.

This is the only TIL post I have seen on Steemit where I also learned something new today, thank you for sharing along with the extra info. I'm now off to ask everyone I meet today if they knew this or not.

haha. thanks! it's also a great conversation starter :D

Fascinated by the tshirt thing!!

it's bloody awesome fact

It is, I always had wondered!

although now we all button up our respective shirts ourselves

speak for yourself, peasant :P

forgive me, sir :D

Great TIL. I knew about the fact but not about the reason.

Now I know. Or do I?

I mostly wear t-shirts, anyways :)

Amazing, now I know! A make friend just bought several jackets on super sale that buttoned the "wrong" way. He didn't care. $50 instead of $350!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.23 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 29 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Your post deserves one upvote but I am only voting for people that powered up lately (I have some rules on my blog about that because I am building my trail using curation rules)

This time I will make one exception because I'm sure real steemians (my trail followers) will understand that quality must be rewarded on Steemit! Nice post!

thank you very much! all appreciation is great. stick around!

Hahaha, the title made me laugh. thx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61067.28
ETH 3381.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47