Today I Learned: what makes a good TIL?

in #til7 years ago

Another day, another TIL. This one is META!


Following my last TIL and the positive response I have received on it I feel tempted to write more of those kind of articles. Yet, for me quality and the actual NEED for a post of mine to exist takes precedent over everything else. Not to be a snob, but a lot of the TIL I read are not TILs at all, mostly regurgitated information of no insight or vision. Yeah, I might be a snob :D

Well, that's because I read an ungodly amount of articles and book so I do learn a lot of interesting stuff, I wonder what is a good TIL to post around here. Now, you see, the idea with TIL in my take is not that I actually share something new. I think everyone can agree that "new" has no meaning when we have the internet. Yet, we can learn a lot. The idea seems to be that we are presented with the opportunity to learn something that we wouldn't otherwise.
Would you have thought to search for something like your right to live in a silent environment? Is living in silence a human right? Just an example...

That's the thing, sometimes we don't even think to learn something because we literally can't think about it. And that's why, constant exposure to different people, sources and books will do wonders for our TIL. I want to bring my contribution just by posting a few per week. I am not yet sure if all will be TIL per se, maybe news, maybe musings on "new" and other stuff like that...

We'll see but I am, as always, looking foward to your input and your opinion in the comments!

Sort:  

ha! thanks a lot man. means a lot coming from another writer!!

I think the TIL tag has helped to make it acceptable to treat this platform more like life (at least mine). Sometimes I have long philosophical discussions with my friends. Other times we like to laugh about how fast you would travel in outer space because of a fart...

I'd love to see you post some of these sillier things. You have done some great funny ones in the past.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99