TIL: What vexillology means.

in #til8 years ago

AH, another TIL! Yes, indeed, being Sunday and all which I have just designated as the TIL day which I will, from now on follow religiously until I won't.

So, hello, and welcome to TIL SUNDAY, fellow think-a-like-and-purveyors-of-mind-expanding-habits-etc. The idea being that you will learn something here. Today is what vexillology actually means. Is that even a word?!?!


nice flag: simple, elegant, color coordinated, original?!

My auto-correct seems to think it is not a word. BOO!!

So anyway, as I was saying, I discovered I really like reading about design and flag design seems to be very acceptable. That was your hint, did you miss it?

Vexillology is the study of flags. If you study flags, you are a vexillologist. It does seem to come out of nicely..and might provide a good workout for you tongue.
I know you have more questions so I have to direct you to this awesome, amazing, one of a kind, 14 minutes long podcast about vexillology from 99% invisible. Listen, be amazed, pass on the knowledge and have a nice Sunday

Sort:  

Yeah! I learned about Vexillology as well from 99% Invisible! A great podcast!!! XD

indeeeeeed. i agree! the ultimate TIL podcast.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.73 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33