Today I learned My sister will be part of a pioneering study that uses tech to treat schizophrenia

in #til7 years ago (edited)

One of my sisters has been suffering from schizophrenia for nearly ten years, over time she has become resistant to the antipsychotics currently available which recently led to her being hospitalised for 18 months. Although she is now home she is still being tormented on a daily basis and is struggling to get by.

Last week we reached out to the doctors conducting a study into a pioneering therapy which uses virtual avatars to help sufferers gain control of their auditory hallucinations. The results of the small pilot study were amazing with some patients reporting that their voices had stopped completely. They have since conducted a much larger study and are currently processing the results.

Here is a short report on the pilot study

Today I learned that they are willing to help her when the 3rd round of research begins. This is fantastic news for us all and hopefully the first steps to a fresh start for my sister.

If you would like to learn more about the avatar study you can visit the university college London's page on it here

Sort:  

Fascinating, and hopeful news! All the best to you and your sister.

Thank you steemswede, the 2013 report in the British Journal of Psychiatry makes for some fascinating reading, although I did have to keep google close.

Thank you for sharing, I have to admit though i have never been able to take that guy seriously.

As within, so without

An open mind goes a VERY long way.

Socrates said " I am the wisest man, because I admit I know nothing"

I hope it goes well for her. I can only imagine how distressing it from someone suffering from symptoms of schizophrenia.

thank you thecryptofiend. Having witnessed what she goes through I still couldn't begin to imagine what it is like for her. Although one small mercy is she never remembers very much of what has happened after her worst episodes.

Good luck, I hope it goes well for her

Thank you cryptofunk.

Hope this is a positive route for her. PM me if you need to.

Thank you Opheliafu, It's looking very promising.

Wow, sorry to hear about your sisters struggles. I hope she finds some relief from being apart of this study!

Wishing her the best of luck with it!

I wish the best for you and your sister.

thank you mochisakuracake, I'm looking forward to seeing your crochet make today. I don't get to comment on them often but i do pop by to check them out when i can. your flower bowl was lovely.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.64 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 15 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Steem_Land Steemland.com tweeted @ 16 Nov 2016 - 04:57 UTC

Today I learned My sister will be part of a pioneering study that uses tech to treat schizophrenia — Steemit

steemit.com/til/@phoenixma… / https://t.co/PugAgygEzm

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15