TIL: How to Properly Sprout Avocado Pits to Grow Into Trees!

in #til8 years ago

Today I learned how to properly sprout avocado pits.  Turns out, the reason I've never had success is because I've never planted them correctly.  For starters, I originally gravitated towards the popular toothpick and water method.  Anyone who thinks stabbing a seed that they intend to grow is a good idea, obviously hasn't though much about what they are really doing.  Some seeds do like to be roughed up a bit, generally due to really thick seed coats, but for the most part it is not good practice to damage seeds you intend to grow.  When I finally decided to try planting them in dirt, it didn't work out because I planted the seed upside down, the fattest part up.  

So why do I want to grow avocados?  Considering I'm not a huge fan of them, I really only like them in the guacamole recipe I mentioned earlier, it does seem a little strange. . Realistically speaking, due to their health benefits I wish I liked them more.  Perhaps having my own tree to give me fresh, ripe avocados will be what I need to start to love eating the fruit.  It's also another gardening adventure for me, which is enough to get me interested.  This same reasoning is why I want to grow papaya, a fast growing fruit I'm not really a fan of.  

They've got a whole list of health benefits, often touted as a super food.  They're chock full of vitamins and minerals including: vitamin K, Folate, Vitamin C, Vitamin B5, Potassium, Vitamin B6 and Vitamin E.  One avocado is rumored to have 2 grams of protein and a good amount of healthy fats, making this a really healthy choice for the vegetarian or vegan.  Apparently they contain more potassium than bananas, which I didn't know until today.  The health benefits include, but are not limited to: lots of fiber, the fat helps you absorb nutrients from food better, loaded with eye protective antibiotics, prevents cancer, helps with arthritis, helps with heart disease and high cholesterol, and can even help you lose weight.

Anyone can grow an avocado tree with a little know how.  If you live in a cold climate, keep it to a large pot and move it indoors during the winter.  The tree will cap out at a maximum of 7 feet high, and honestly produces a decent amount of fruit even at that size. From my understanding, a small avocado tree should be able to provide for a regular sized family with regular avocado consumption.  For the lucky people with the year long growing season like myself, full grown trees can get to be 20-30 feet tall.  They're self pollinating trees, meaning you only need one for fruit.  With the proper growing conditions, after five years you'll have a tree producing fruit. 

Take care when cutting avocados to keep the seed undamaged.  The best way to cut an avocado is to split it in half, using the pit as a pivot point.  The idea is to not press too hard during this process for best sprouting results.  Many like to remove the pit by slamming the edge of the knife into it, which grabs the nut making it easy to pull away from the flesh.  This isn't a good idea if you intend on growing it, just use a spoon and scoop it out, pulling off any flesh to add to whatever you're using the avocado for. 

Rinse them really well and remove the skin, using your fingers.  The best part to start is where the knife hit the pit, as the skin is already severed.  It'll come off in many pieces, but it should come off fairly easily. 

Get your planting containers ready.  I saw lots of different ways of doing this.  You can plant many pits into a bigger container, or just one into a smaller.  It all depends on what you have on hand. 

I put two in one container, and one in the other.  One of my four pits from making guacamole was already rotting, so I didn't bother trying to plant it.  Put the fat side down, as that's the bottom of the seed.  My mistake before was planting this part up, which probably confused the plant and made it so it didn't sprout.

Push the seeds in until they are halfway submerged and water them in.  Keep the soil moist, but don't over water or you risk causing them to rot.  Just add water when you notice the soil is dry.  This process can take up to two months before the seed finally starts to split, sending out a green shoot out of the top a few days later.

It'll be a few months before I'll see anything from these pits.  The sources I found online explaining how to do this said that this method, with peeling the seeds and planting them fat side down into soil is the most effective way to get a tree started.  Inserting toothpicks and using water doesn't work very well, as you damage the seed before it has a chance to get started growing. As I found, it does matter which end is pointed down, make sure it's the fat end.  I'll share more on these pits as things change with them.  With any luck, I'll have three avocado trees within the next 3 months! All good things come with lots of time, labor and love. 

All photos in the post are original and mine, save for the first one.  I didn't have an avocado tree so I found this one on google, sourced from Inhabitat

Sort:  

Thanks a lot for your kind guidance of how to grow avocado. It's reaaly interesting.

Thank you very much for this post. I never had any success with the toothpick approach. Now I know better thanks to you.

Have a great weekend!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $20.03 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 02 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Fun fact: the main animal propagator of the avacado is the now extinct giant ground sloth.

The easiest way I have found for germinating avocado seeds is:

  1. Leave avocado on the counter for too long
  2. Pick up way over ripe avocado and put it in the compost pile
  3. Wait.

From my understanding, avocado trees are not self pollinating. However, where you are there are probably plenty of avocado trees around.

You never know what kind of avocado tree you will get from a seed. The seed is a hybrid of the mother and father trees. Each seed from the same tree will make different trees.

All Hass avocado trees are grafted. So, if you really like Hass avocados, you have to buy one (or if you got a friend, graft one yourself on a root you have already grown)

The most important thing about planting an avocado tree is that you cannot bury it deeper. An avocado tree has a ring around the base of its trunk that it uses to breath. So, if you transplant your tree deeper than it was, you will suffocate it.

And I have a friend with a 50 foot tall avocado tree.
There are also dwarf varieties. But you have to buy those, or hope that your seed makes a tree close to what you picked it from.

Thanks for this. There's a lot here that i didn't find on my internet searches on the matter.
My sources did tell me that they are self pollinating, i just checked again to confirm.
I didn't know they weren't true to type but i expected it. Should be interesting to see what i get.
Had no idea about the breathing ring thing, that's pretty fascinating.
As the height thing, that was just averages probably coming from orchards... not sure if they're still called orchards with avocados.
I found it to be true the most part when observing trees when we passed orchards(still not sure if correct term). I know orchards keep things a standard smaller size for ease of picking though

What a great post, see where I got it all wrong, I had given up and gave in and went a brought a Avocado seedling, might give it another try with your instructions. Thanks for the Great Post!

Thank you!
Hope your reattempt works for you, it's pretty cool to grow your own trees from seedling

Nice, i like the Aguacate <3 (Y)

nice post very informative.

Gracias. I think TIL posts are only good if you share what you learned, not just that you learned something. I appreciate that you found this informative, it means I did my job right!

yes you did.

I'll look forward to seeing your little guys sprout and grow up, lol. Best of luck with them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66