Today I Learned: Approximately how much worth of new Steem is made every 3 seconds

in #til7 years ago

I


was just explaining the differences between Bitcoin and Steem in how it is issued to a friend of mine just now, and did some back-of-the-envelope/napkin calculations on it.

Currently there is about $33,960,428 worth of Steem.

33,960,428 × 0.0942 = 3,199,072.3176

This will increase by about 9.42% in the next 12 months, which is $3 199 072.3176

3,199,072.3176 ÷ 365.25 = 8758.58

So every day at current price there is

$8,758.58 per day

being disbursed by Witnesses to the various ends, post rewards, Witness pay, interest payments.

$364.94 per hour

and

$6.08 per minute

and the value of a block (on average, backup witnesses get paid ~5 times more per block but usually not more than one a day), is therefore on average

~$0.30 for every three seconds.

😎


We can't code here! This is Whale country!

Vote #1 l0k1

Go to steemit.com/~witnesses to cast your vote by typing l0k1 into the text entry at the bottom of the leaderboard.

(note, my username is spelled L Zero K One or Lima Zero Kilo One, all lower case)

Sort:  

Incredible post! ☆☆☆☆☆🐳🐳🐳🐳🐳

So you aren't named loki :D, l0k1 :), anyway, thanks for the heads up :), keep up the witnessing work, hope it gives you more insights you can share :)

btw why did you downvote @fahmiauliasfr?

He was spamming in chat after being told not to and his comment is dumb, I have had a couple of accounts from time to time leaving comments like that and not posting anything original anyway.

To my eyes the comment is like "inb4" on 4chan...

never been on 4chan, the thing is he's from somewhere else, probably speaks shit English and doesn't take things in immediately. I do remember last time I promoted my content in chat, some other guy needed me to CAPS at him after the 3-4th time of saying dude stop reposting, take an hour at least, don't just hog the last spot, so after I "screamed" he did say ok :D, after 10-15 posts in 30 mins. Can't remember his name right now, but there are many starting up and we shouldn't just slap them around.

Have an interaction at least, give it a week, if it doesn't work, fuck the guy, np he clearly needs to learn to understand other people. Anyway I remember the guy because I've read his intro, he used to put in comments and "pray" for views, he tagged the whales they voted him in so I never had the need to upvote or to talk to him. Didn't make an impression on me and I couldn't find anything to say.

I get your view tho, not much time to go through all that :D

How is witnessing going by the way?

Any new insights :) ?

The witness server is running perfectly now, and it also has RPC function enabled that I will be using in the website I am building.

I'm glad that people appreciate my insights, sometimes I wonder... But I have seen over the years too many times I say something to someone, from one of my epiphanies, and 10 years later it has radically shaped their whole life since then. So I know, even if the people don't reward me directly, I am changing the world anyway :)

Did you base numbers on people like me that they rob dry, too? Yeah, prolly not.

Either way, voting for you in a sec. Good luck lok1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61399.54
ETH 3383.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50