TIL that Saffron is the Most Expensive Spice in the World

in #til7 years ago

Yes, TIL that Saffron is the most expensive spice in the world, costing around 5000-6000 euros per kilo (The value depends a lot on which country it is).

The largest exporter of Saffron is Iran, they produce between 80% and 90% of all the Saffron that moves around the world.

But of course this is not the reason why it is so expensive (in some countries yes ;) )

This spice comes from the dried stigmas of the purple flower of the Crocus sativus plant.

It takes about 250 000 flowers to achieve a kilogram of Saffron and flowers need to be individually picked by hand in Autumn when they are fully open.

And this is the main reason why Saffron is the most expensive spice in the world. Luckily with just a little bit is enough to give the required flavor to the meals.

There are references to Saffron from the 2300 BC and its use in rites, religious ceremonies, food, etc.

As interesting detail is to say that its use should be moderate because when used in very large doses can produce drowsiness, headaches and there have been extreme cases that have convulsed to end up dead.

Do you like Saffron as a spice?

Do you use it in your kitchen?

All photos are from Wikipedia


This is a 50%-50% post!


juanmiguelsalas

Sort:  

I have started drinking saffron tea because I have heard that it is a very health-giving concoction, especially for preventing macular degeneration of one's eyesight.

I did not know about that use, thanks for the info :)

But remember always use in small quantities, because many people talk in comments and articles about the problem when used in large quantities so it must be real.

So who can afford large quantities anyway? :-)

Interesting

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.55 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 02 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I have grown Crocus Sative and harvested my own saffron. Beautiful flower.

Oh, also you @luzcypher grown some? Nice! :) Sadly I live in Germany and here is too cold I think for to grow some.

Thank you @juanmiguelsalas. I didn't know hardly anything about saffron. Now I love it even more. It comes from a flower--oh yes. I'll have some of that! Thank you for sharing.

You are welcome @everlove! Me too didn't know much about saffron, very interesting (and beautiful too) :)

I grow a little patch of saffron crocus. I harvest only a little bit every year. I think I had something like 11 flowers this year, so 33 stamens to harvest, lol. But maybe they will expand and be my retirement program! ; )

Ohhh! Nice, well done @haphazard-hstead :) You have enough to prepare a lot of food with 33 stamens, so be ready. And for your "retirement program" look at the price, for sure it will work for you with a little bit of work and time ;) Btw Im following now :)

Thank you! I will have to decide how to use my saffron stamens. I dried them out and have them in a little jar, waiting for me to decide what to do with them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77