TIL: That my oldest daughter passed her learners permit exam. She is driving!

in #til8 years ago

I knew this day would come

But as a father, it's something you try not to think about, for several reasons. One reason is that it verifies that time does "fly", and I find myself questioning where all the time went. Another, is that daddy's little princess is older, and will soon be finding her way through life. Although I'm excited, thinking about all the years gone by has left me with mixed emotions. Happy that she achieved a goal in getting her learners permit to drive. And sad, she will soon be leaving the nest to pursue her own life. Yes, that's me being selfish.

I have been blessed to watch her grow into a beautiful young women, and it helps to know that she is a very intelligent, empathetic, and loving person. And I'm certain she will be a productive person, and an asset to her chosen profession.

So, to celebrate this achievement, I'm posting this for all to see. And remind fellow parents, they all grow up!

My little princess





One proud Daddy!



Main Image Source

Sort:  

Time does "fly" but it seems to change when you have a child to measure it with.

I can look at my second daughter today and say, "Wow, that is what 5 years looks like." (Her B-day today)

Tomorrow, I can look in the mirror and say, "Wow, that's what 36 looks like?"

I think I prefer the 5!

i know right. ah yes, 5 was a great age!

Happy birthday to your daughter!
I look in the mirror and say, "I'm a great looking 50." (I'll be 45 at the end of the month) LOL

I'll let her know, and you are funny!

Aw - congrats to her, Instructor - great parenting! You need to send her my free Congrats Green Troll card here: www.cardfunding.net :-) Its designed for that.

I can understand the feeling. Same as a father, I'll always think what will happen to me when my princess grown older. Happy she grown up but sad of her leaving ....Same as when we grown up and left our parents ...But we'll cheer up for what she brought us ...

Glad to hear it, though it comes with mixed feelings.

Whenever I am driving off road, I like to have my six year old or my five year old on my lap steering for me.

If they get the hang of it now, I'll have less to worry about when that day comes!

Yeah, the idea of any of my kids on the roads is worrisome. You just hope they are paying attention to their surroundings. The thing is, she told me she really didnt want to drive now, she wanted to wait a few years. Boy was I relieved. But i guess her friends are talking cars and stuff, so it got her excited to knock out the test. Good thing is, she is required to wait(get better at driving) for 6 months before she can attempt her road test.

I know the worry. Even if she's the best driver, It's the others on the road you have to worry about. We are not on the road with perfect drivers.

That sounds good!

Congratulations. This coming from a woman who doesnt know how to drive, let alone have a driving license *sigh

Honestly, I hate to drive. Traffic, goofy drivers, drivers on phones, etc...

It's good because now you can have her run errands for you but oh boy, that extra "freedom" she will have now :P

Congrats though. Yes time does fly but that is quite an achievement you and her have. It's good to think about the next stage in our lives.

lol. good point. she is a daddy's girl so i will still do the errands..even hers.

Thanks man, appreciate that.

It is very fulfilling watching our kids grows in the way we wanted them to be.

By the way @instructor2121, can you help me out at streemian.com. How to become a curator? What to put on the "description"?

you can do a short bio if you like. Or to be simple, just your account name.

you have a character limitation, so keep it short. hope that helps.

I dont fully understand how this curation trail works. Can you give a link of the curation trail post? I need read through it.

I will DM you. Great question!

Yes, time surely does go by quickly. My baby is 18, been driving and getting ready for USAF bootcamp. Thankfully his older brothers "broke me in" and I'm getting pretty used to the idea of being an empty nester. LOL It was a tough transition to let them grow up and be gone, but seeing what my kids are achieving affirms that I must have done some things right. You'll get there. :) Congrats to your daughter for her learner's permit!

Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 62868.78
ETH 3089.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48