You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TIL: That Horseshoe Crabs Are Considered Living Fossils

in #til7 years ago

They are amazing creatures! I was camping on Hog Key in the Everglades one spring and a whole group orgy of spawning horseshoe crabs came up on the shoreline. It was amazing to be right in the middle of all that! It was like being in an ancient time.

Sort:  

I grew up seeing them alot in New York. And my fear was being in the bay or the ocean, knowing they are down there, and stepping on that spiked tail. Probably a mostly irrational fear, but I thought about it nonetheless ;-)

That's neat that you saw a lot of them, as a kid. I don't know how common it might be to step on their tail. I don't think they are aggressive. I can see how a kid might be scared about it, though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77