TIL That There Are Approximately 200 Bodies On Mt. Everest And One Of The Reasons They Are Still There Is The Cost.

in #til7 years ago

Experts estimate that at least 233 people have died attempting to climb Earth’s highest mountain, Mount Everest in Nepal. Of those who have perished, it is estimated that nearly 200 of their bodies remain on the mountain.



Why are there so many bodies left on the mountain?

For some, it is part of their last wishes. The climber and their family members sign a document stating that in the even that they die in the attempt, they want to be left on mountain. Some describe this as being similar to a Captain “going down with the ship”. However, this is not the case for every deceased mountaineer.



A second reason, is the danger and effort involved in retrieving these bodies. Due to several factors, it requires between 6 and 10 Sherpas to retrieve one body. When a body is found, it is usually covered in ice. The body must first be chiseled from the ice. During this process, some ice inevitably sticks to the body. This can more than double the weight that the Sherpas must maneuver down the mountain. Adding to the already difficult task is the fact that there is less oxygen at the higher elevations of the mountain. Most of the deaths occur above 26,000 feet. This is also known as the “death zone”. The lack of oxygen at this altitude is often the reason a climber perished to begin with. The lowered oxygen content of the air makes every action more difficult to perform. Some have stated that it takes tremendous effort simply to pick up a candy wrapper. Therefore, many Sherpas are required to move the body.



Like any dangerous job, those performing it require a premium in order to complete the hazardous task. Due to the number of Sherpas required and the incredibly hazardous nature of the work, it can cost between $30,000 and $70,000 to retrieve one body. At least two people have died while attempting to retrieve a body.

Although some have used bodies as landmarks, the practice is seen as disrespectful and many climbers try to avoid using the fallen mountaineers this way.

I could not possibly see myself attempting something so daring at this point in my life. Too many people are counting on me. However, when I was young and dumb (er) I used to jump from one rooftop to another just for kicks. They weren't very tall buildings... but they were tall enough for me to know that I should never tell my mom about it (I still haven't).

What is the most daring feat you have attempted?

For more info, please check out the following websites:

http://www.cbc.ca/news/world/reclaiming-the-dead-on-mt-everest-1.1206082

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/morning-mix/wp/2016/05/27/the-extraordinary-cost-of-retrieving-dead-bodies-from-mount-everest/?utm_term=.f03d5e3b2715

Image Links 1 from Pixabay, 2, 3

Sort:  

I'll offer a bounty of 1000 Steem if any climber can find Ruth Mallory's photo up there.

I don't need any bounty. I'll climb it "because it's there". ;)

Reading old issues of Outside Magazine doesn't count as 'climbing'.

I'm such a city boy. I don't think I've ever read a magazine outside let alone Outside Magazine.

I have heard about this before too. It is both disturbing and weirdly fascinating. I suppose for those who want to be left there it is an immortality of sorts for your physical body - it will last much longer there than anywhere else.

Good point. To each his own...
I purposely didn't use any of the images of the bodies I found. I wanted to be as respectful as possible.

Yes also it would probably be NSFW then I think. Some of those images are quite gruesome if you haven't seen a frozen body before.

True. Although some of them were oddly peaceful.

That's good advice! I know I'm not going to get them.

This is so terrifying and motivational

Yeah, I found out about it just recently and I was shocked to be honest.
Mt. Everest is in Nepal and I lived there for like 16 years and I never knew this!

How close were you to the mountain?

Just 100 miles. We could always see the entire mountain range from our home! :D

That is really interesting... I had no idea that people signed a form to be left up there in the case of death... I think if I was handed that form I would turn around and go home ;)

What's crazy is that most people need to have their spouse sign it as well. Imagine that conversation. "Honey, can you come here a minute?"

Sign this so I can die up there please...

If I personally tried anything like that and died doing it, I say the mountain took me. Let the mountain keep me. :)
The most daring feat I've ever done was ride Kingda Ka. For a few seconds there's like zero gravity. Crazy!

What is Kingda Ka? I'm intrigued!

Not my video but you'll get a good idea. :)

I closed my eyes on the drop... and it was only a video!!!

It was the craziest feeling ever - like you can't breathe but you're breathing. LOL
I'll do that all day long but I won't go parachuting or bungee jumping.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.50 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 08 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Not only is it expensive, but it would be a hell of a lot of work to retrieve the bodies. It's a looooong way up, and down!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70