You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TIL: The iPhone 6 is 120 Million Times Faster Than The Computer Used in Apollo 11 Mission

in #til8 years ago

Imagine the path I have traveled for my generation: I saw the arrival of electricity, telephone, radio, tv, first computers, internet, wireless, etc. What will be tomorrow! I hope to see many more changes!

Sort:  

You just gave me an interesting thought. Every generation sees a lot of changes in the world since they are born. Every generation thinks that "it is exciting times to be alive", well in reality exciting changes happen every year. They have been happening for quite some time now!

IMO, this is the first generation of information overload though. It is becoming increasingly difficult for someone to catch up. The new generation learns the newest marketable technology pretty intuitively. But the mass of technology in both terms of breadth and complexity, is beyond even the youngest minds to absorb. It's drinking from the proverbial firehose, 24/7.
I remember my parents used to ask me to set up new components for them. For me, it was simple. Everything just made sense. So I'd set up the new VHS machine, cable box, speakers, etc., because it wasn't something they as readily understood. Now I call my sons once in awhile and ask why something doesn't work the way I think it should.
This all makes me wonder where the plateau is. Is there a saturation point where humans simply cannot continue to increase knowledge exponentially? A point where the need for the basic knowledge just to have something to build upon becomes so huge that the increase slows down?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64970.70
ETH 3238.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64