TIL Guess what this is...

in #til8 years ago

Well you learn something new every day.

Have a guess at what's in the picture below and then check out this link.

link

I'm used to these for great forms of camouflage... the praying mantis family... we get all kinds of camoflage varieties where I grew up.

And the best I have seen in spiders is this...

I've typically bumped into the above while clambering about the pecan nut trees picking pecan nuts.

Its called a bark spider and you usually only notice it when it moves the rest of the time it looks like a node where a branch broke off.

Sort:  

@gavvet
I didn't know a spider can bark, Do you? as in a dog

Have you never heard of a barking spider ;)

but seriously these ones look like a piece of bark... as in the outer layer of a tree

check out this one

OMG I started my day a little shocked hehe

Glad I live in the UK as we don't get these things here

My guess at what that is: what's going to haunt my dreams the next few days :(

Its not that bad... are you an arachnophobe?

No, but the top one looks like it could bore into the skin.

Spiders scare me, I'd hate to be the poor guy who is picking leaves and realizes that it's really a spider. Are they venomous?

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.64 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 17 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52