TIL why xXx is a symbol for Amsterdam (SFW)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #til8 years ago (edited)

It's not what I thought ... and not what you might think ...

I have never spend a second thought on this until today.
I even talked about this at Steemfest, since I have the xxx in my username.

I knew, it wasn't for the red light district.
I had always just assumed, those were windmills and was going to post just that:

Turns out: They are not.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coat_of_arms_of_Amsterdam

I'm glad, I've checked.

Sort:  

It is a coat of arms thing and means something about courage, strength and something or other... I think it was Queen Beatrix that made it sometime in the 50s...

it is still funny with the shape of the bollards they use as well...

TIL too on 2 things. Didn't even know about the XXX is a symbol but the coat of coats is more intriguing. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64251.91
ETH 3494.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54